Ktalk Anthropologists

Why is it that Maasai people occupy a mythical position in Kenyan culture? Heck even the national flag features Maasai shield and spears. Also is it true that the Maasai were the only nywele ngumus that wakoloni respected due to being fierce warriors/noble savages?
[ATTACH=full]318492[/ATTACH]

The mzungu respected them by giving them what ? Diseases ? Mkamba could jump twice as high as that, while beating his drum ? The Jogoo in KANU was a Luo thing.

Almost all African tribes had spears!

Gun vs Spear. Not sure how mzungu respected them.

I think it’s mainly white romanticism, the whole ‘noble savage’ trope they’re obsessed with. To the rest of us Masai are just colourfully dressed cowherds.

Maasais have BBC that white women enjoyed

Maasai are just primitive bonobos just like most African tribes. No need to hold onto primitive traditions in this age.

However strong you are you cannot contend with a bullet fired by a 7yr old. Every man in my community has a spear,red sheath sword from England a bow and a couple of arrows. Just that they do not walk with them on the road like Maasai.

it’s a white man’s fetish in conjuction with wildlife , it’s like maasais are part of wildlife …anyways…apart from the jumping dance , a certain missionary in the 19th century said he found kikuyu & maasais similar even in dress… i think most african tribes had similarities , they had similar spears , guards , cloth etc etc

Its not the ammunation you have but the tactics and knowledge of an area. Hata uende na missles in places such as Kapedo, a villager with a knife will undo you.

Again, even with guns, the mzungu fears guarilla war

Wariah wacha jokes. Small arms changed the dynamics of warfare, all the bush tactics in the world can’t beat a ranged weapon that can kill you in one shot. Why do you think the only Africans who successfully resisted colonization just so happened to have British muskets?

Wacha umefiiii, bila ground presence any army iwes make. A case study of US failure in Somali. How somali won the movadishu battle 93

Not sure you understand what happened in that incident. But it was not a battle as such. US has gone in on a capture mission. It was to be a quick in and out. In a matter of minutes.

The maasai endeared themselves by donating land for wildlife conservation. Wazungu wakawapea good prokopanda.

Boss. Usicheze na bunduki.

Pia the British government had colonized and ruled over so many lands in the world (Hong Kong, Australia, briefly US e.t.c). Unaona vita ya wakenya ikiwa kubwa aje kwao?

Kuna vitu kadhaa za maajabu zilituokoa kutoka British rule.

Is it shield or a coffee bean

Hehe wachana na bhangi bro

Had never thought of it