is it worth it to buy a car?

Unatumia averagely how much on your car per month on necessities and non-necessities plus parking fees etc? Is it worth it?

Nunua gari uwache kutembea kama mbuzi or kuku. Huwezi teleza kwa plot yako mpaka destination. Gari is a necessity bora usiende overboard with something you can’t afford.

Gari inakupatianga freedom sana. You can choose where to live without thinking of connecting matatus. You can travel and not think about booking early when you want to go Ushago on Christmas. You can easily meet you friends for a drink without thinking much of the time or place.

The key thing is to get one you can afford to maintain and fuel given your financial status

If you are starting out, look for the 1.5 liter cars but you can get the 1.0 liter ones if 1.5 is too much for you but I wouldnt recommend the 1.0 liter ones especially kwa long long distance.

Gari inakujanga na pesa yake. Sell the car and the money you were using for fuel and maintenance is gone.

Nunua vitz 1000cc uanze maisha nayo. It is cheap to maintain and will serve most of your needs before ukafunge. You have to start somewhere.

Nunua Toyota Probox halafu uipimp na kipakuo ya mjengo hapo nyuma to minimize drag resistance

na pia aweke ile snorkel kama ya landcruiser

If you can’t figure out a way to pass the car maintenance cost as business cost or have someone else pay for it stick to matatus .

If even affording luxury food or fancy clothes is too much for you, don’t think about buying a car. But if you have spare money after spending and saving, you can get one but make sure you are able to maintain it.

Kila kitu iko na cost. Kama hutaki kutumia pesa, usinunue nguo, tunia vitambara. Usinunue hata tissue, tumia majani. Usilipe nyumba. Lala nje. That way ýou will save your money.

Lakini kama unataka kuishi maisha ya kawaida, tumia pesa.

Start with a car that is affordable to buy and run…Vitz, Demio and so on. Ukichukua hizo na huishi mbali fuel yako itakua very managable. Your insurance will also be relatively manageable. If you can import your car for yourself you will save a minimum of 200k. Avoid locally used cars.

The moment you have a family, yes, or nature of business demands so. Otherwise two wheeling isn’t bad, go with the times and your pocket. Sometimes the male species pressure’s itself too much just to fit in.

Its very simple. We have liabilities and assets. A car is a liability unless you’re in car business. The decision on whether or not to buy one is best answered by understanding the liabilities and whether you can meet them. Don’t try to compare all the costs of running the car plus initial costs with what you get from it such as comfort and convenience because you immediately shift to business.
Best way to put it is a car is a liability just like any other n trying to convert it to an asset or income generation will mean you are in business n so if you had a German machine e.g BMW you will have to replace it with a Japanese workhorse.
Also adding all the costs of owning and running a car will always be higher than using public transport.