Intergenerational wealth transfer QUESTION

Its like this:

You are over 55 with 3 kids 6, 9, 11, and don’t expect to see 70, ata 60 ni bahati.

Now, you have 3m which you would like to invest for the 3 kids in much the same way many invest for their kids by purchasing land. i.e benefits to the kids in 15 - 20 years in the future.

What are the pros/cons of the following:
[ol]
[li]Open a high earning long term fixed diposit account with the 3m for the kids.[/li][/ol]
[ol]
[li]Buy a pieces of land worth 3m[/li][/ol]
Which one would earn most in said 15 - 20 much time ?

Asante.

Unakufa in the next 5 years?? Why would you wait all this years to sire?? Sorry am off topic but as you know elders lazma waambiwe so we learn from the same.

A 55 year old with a 3 year old is more like a grandfather to them.

1. Land is fine. But needs due diligence.
  2. It’s a good time to buy T- Bonds now that the economy is haywire. Rates at ~13% for a 20 year one giving you about 400K per year for the next 20 years. Advantage is you get your 3m plus interest. Disadvantage is inflation.

But Men can sire kids even when they are in their 70’s…you do not have a ticking biological time bomb like us.

Govt Bonds is the way to go.

Then who’ll raise the kids??

So imagine a man gets a child even at 65. When the child is 15, the dude is 80. Surely, what parenting can he do at that age? Cant even walk to the window, to see his son stealing the car at 9pm. Even thats too far. By the time a man is 60, his knees are creaking. back is stiff. Cant kick a ball with his 4 year old son. Wheres the fun of being a father?

Kiroro lifestyle

Weka kwa bonds ,si Kila mtu anataka shamba .Mtoto ana ishi akijua Kuna pesa mahali anajipanga mapema kenye atafanyia akipata.
The problem with land is that it can be difficult to liquidate.Since saa hii Kila mtu amenunua shamba anangoja Bei zipande auze.

The third option: drink the money with Sabina joy malayas

Bonds are better than land, Land kuna disputes especially that ni kitu long term and all that… so you’d rather invest in bonds.

18 year olds will squander cash very easily - patia wao shamba at least it will present them with kidogo headache on how to dispose the same.

Who raised Uhuru Kenyatta when his father was in his 60s? Those are peasant-inspired worries banae. Not everyone is concerned about kids.

Sort of stupid question is that? How many people in Kenya can afford to live anything close to Uhuru??

If you’re not concerned about kids you shouldn’t be having them.

:D:D:D if money is in plenty utalea tu.
My uncle at 72 has sired a baby girl with his slay queen hapo Kiambu Rd. Drama galore.

Amen !

Leta hekaya

Men, whatever u do. Work hard in your 30s and 40s atleast ujenge tu rentals mahali. It daent have to be anythinng fancy, aim for kitu 100K returns per month. Thats the only investment u can safely leave for your kids bila kubabaika, no matter how irresponsible they grow up to be. Hizo zingine ni kubahatisha tu, u better pray u get smart kids juu izo bonds na shamba waeza zikula overnight wakitaka.

Lol! You’re talking like we don’t see all the young fathers in Kenya who spend all their time at the bar with friends or on road trips and whatever else with their side dishes.

They actively try to spend as little time as possible at home. It’s one of the reasons why Kenyans are complaining about the current curfew. They wanna be out and away from their crotch goblins. They’re not spending any time with their kids either so that kind of evens out with the guy who has kids later in life. You don’t have to be old to be limited activity-wise because there’s many younger Dads who are sick or too busy for activities with their children anyways.