Innovation on earbuds has somewhat stalled - NYAMGONDHO

I lost my Jabra elite 7 pros the other week and I have been looking for a replacement. My annual allocation for tech items runs between 500,000 and 700,000 Kenya shillings and is far from being depleted. So, the replacement was quick, and I have settled on the Jabra Elite 7 Active. These cost approximately 20,000. I will post these here and review.

I loved the Elite 7 pros but had a problem with them falling off whenever I fall asleep during long flights and journeys. So, I was out for sport earbuds, as these tend to come with some wingtips which hold them securely in place.

But even almost a year down the line since the Jabras launched there is not an earbud that is as complete. I shortlisted SoundCore, Beats, Master & Dynamic, Bose, Sony and even JBL but none really was complete. My needs were as follows

1. Small sized and comfortable earbud

2. MultiPoint connectivity (laptop and computer connected at the same time)

3. Single earbud use while the other is charging in the case

4. Wireless charging on case

5. Equalizer app

6. At least six microphones on the earbuds for good call quality

7. Physical buttons coz touch controls have problem with wet hands and gloves

8. Good Noise Cancellation

9. At least a good IP rating coz I sometimes shower with my earbuds on.

Apparently only Jabras can meet these requirements. Kudos to Jabras I just bought the Elite 7 actives, but I am surprised why the industry cannot close the gap.

The only drawback for the Jabras is that they do not have wingtips, but the active version has silicone coating that helps keep the earbuds in place with some form of technology Jabra refers to as Shake Grip technology. It sounds like gimmicks but ni sawa tu. I will wear and review when they arrive in a weeks’ time.

[ATTACH=full]470197[/ATTACH]

Umesema $ 165

Wa isn’t this recipe for disaster… I can imagine the soap…

Detailed Specs… Lemme see how my WF-1000XM4 Earbuds score.

XM4s comes with foam ear tips, also wearing them is quite uncomfortable and for some people even painful. XM4s are also splash resistant and cannot be submerged. A shower will ruin these in two days. At least get something that can be submerged to at least 1 Meter.

Cunt relate.

Mimi naskizanga ngoma kama maasai ile ya kufungulia simu full blast.

Nice review but for the life of me, I cannot understand that part ya kuoga na earbuds. The IP rating might be good but my showers take a.maximum of 5min so hakuna mengi yatanipita nikiwa kwa bafu. Wewe sijui unaoganga masaa mangapi such that you have to go in with your ear bud just in case.

I usually have a morning routine that involves exercises. I wear my earbuds as I start exercising and wear them through my 5 minutes shower, through breakfast and sometimes throughout my commute. I only remove them when I step out of the car.

The transparency mode is enough to allow me to hear my surroundings/speak to people and I can take calls any time. I hardly touch my phone in the morning.

Not really, these earbuds can survive being dropped in a dirty pool with mud and grime and all you need is to wipe them with a t-shirt, fix them in your ears and continue jogging through the rain. They will still continue working for years.

Wacha nibaki na oraimo ya 200