Importing via Eastleigh

Several years ago, I came across an article talking about importing things from China via Eastleigh…

I understand that this practice was illegal ju ya kuevade KRA. Hii ujanja bado iko? And how does one go about it…

niaje cid?

Just ask your supplier to send to their warehouse and label on the package; dan1 Nairobi. 07XXYYAABB. Ship by Air

That’s all

Ambia Kinoti nimemsalimia. We are not falling for this trap.

Uende Eastleigh uconfirm

I’m sure ata CID wanajua and they can do nothing about it. The worst that can happen is for the goods to be impounded…

Wacha nitaongelesha Waria nijue kama itaweza.

I don’t think it works like that ju lazma ipitie customs…

Wacha mambo zako. You asked about how to go about it and I told you how to.

Customs sio kazi yako to worry about when you bring goods through those companies in Eastleigh. Waria bribe customs officials.

You job is to send goods to their warehouse in China, Dubai etc. Then pick up the goods in Nairobi after a week for air and 60 days for ocean freight and pay up when the goods arrive

Hatukuambiii

Huyu jamaa juzi ndiye alikuwa anauliza mahali anawezaprint Fake KNEC certificates urgently. Very suspicious

Kama ulijua unaweza uliza Wargess mbona umekuja hapa?
Klundeng!

Ati nani anauliza fake certificates. Wew boss jiheshimu. I’m a Post Graduate and I’ve no use for Certificates. The money I make in a day wewe Mshahara yako ni kidogo…

Talker amesuggest but I hadn’t thought of that. I wanted to know if it still exists…

Some people here really surprise me. Just because you don’t understand something doesn’t mean it is illegal.
Cargo consolidation is perfectly legal. The companies doing it are recognized by Kra. They pay tax only that the end user is charged by volume or weight.
Now, many times the charge by weight exceeds the tax you would pay if you were charged by value.
You are free to ask questions.

Íthûire mûmîanîrîri

Mambo ya mshahara imetoka wapi,??

Nope, it was definitely illegal because they were talking about planes landing in Eldoret and then the goods are taken to Nairobi without paying the required tax. Maybe some KRA guys were in it as well but I’m not sure. Personally, I don’t mind paying taxes after, it is the initial panya roots that businessmen are using that makes it hard to do business competitively in Kenya.

In Eastleigh, for example, you will find stuff being cheaper than on Alibaba, and yet Alibaba is in China. I’ve heard stories of contraband coming through the Kenya Somali boarder so someone is definitely evading taxes. If you always do business by the book in this country, you are not likely to last long in the market.

Learn to understand context. I don’t need a KNEC certificate to make money. That was my point.

Even today consolidated cargo planes land in eldoret airport. More than four jets in a week from Dubai and China.
Reason; to reduce congestion in JKIA.
The taxman is present in eldoret airport and takes his rightful share. They even verify your goods so that you don’t bring in contraband.
Get educated. You cannot import goods for business via DHL.

If you have ever dealt with the Chinaman, you would know they produce various grades of the same product to accommodate your budget. Eg Shoes, watches, you will find same identical item in design, color,branding etc but with very different prices. Alibaba serving global markets will have products that are certified for the target market with the requisite pricing. In the open market anything goes and the local trader wants to maximize profits.