I guess China won the 5G patent war. Ama they stole this too?

Reuters
MON JUL 27, 2020 / 12:05 AM EDT
[SIZE=6]Breakingviews - China’s Huawei holds a 5G trump card[/SIZE]
Robyn Mak

Photo
A Huawei logo is seen on a cell phone screen in their store at Vina del Mar, Chile July 18, 2019.
REUTERS/RODRIGO GARRIDO
HONG KONG (Reuters Breakingviews) - Huawei is not so easy for Western countries to rip out. The Chinese telecommunications-equipment giant founded by Ren Zhengfei owns a huge trove of next-generation wireless patents. As a global standard for 5G emerges, Huawei technology may become essential to carriers.

For years, the Shenzhen-based company has dominated the mobile infrastructure market, outselling rivals Nokia and Ericsson by offering cheaper alternatives. But U.S. concerns that Huawei equipment could be used by Beijing for espionage has gained traction: officials in the UK and France are purging their own networks of Chinese-made kit. A similar reaction elsewhere will seriously dent a business that generated nearly $43 billion in revenue for Huawei last year, roughly a third of the company’s total.

Replacing antennas and mast towers is one thing, though. Even if the likes of Britain’s Vodafone and BT remove all existing Huawei equipment - a move the UK government conservatively estimates will cost 2 billion pounds - global carriers will still be dependent on technology from Huawei to roll out next generation networks. Research firm IPlytics has found that the Chinese outfit owns the most 5G-related patents, and of that, roughly 15% of the essential ones.

ADVERTISEMENT

Simply put, these are technical specifications global carriers can build to in order to ensure different networks are compatible with each other. Having one unified standard will be vital for 5G, which is meant to seamlessly link up billions of machines, cars, and gadgets around the world.

The spoils of Huawei’s patents are mostly in technology for mobile base stations - meaning even if Nokia and Ericsson rebuild Huawei’s infrastructure across Europe, they will still have to use expertise from the Chinese group. For now, Huawei doesn’t financially benefit much from its intellectual property. It prefers to “cross-license” by exchanging access to its own patent portfolios with those of rivals.

Huawei can stop cross-licensing in markets that it has been banned from, leaving mobile carriers on the hook to pay royalties and fees, which can be a lucrative business. Qualcomm, for instance, which owns the bulk of critical mobile chip technologies, has collected over $17 billion in licensing payments since 2017.

Already this year, the Chinese company has sued Verizon in the United States for patent infringement, and is seeking more than $1 billion, Reuters reports. There’s a risk that Huawei’s technological advantage could be turned into political leverage by Beijing.

Our standards: The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
MORE FROM REUTERS

Long live chairman Xi

I’m just saying for Kshs. 900 million it’s a steal. Plus it’s on Sunset Strip right in Hollywood. 4 bedrooms. 6 bathrooms.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fN-m_C5905A

@Kahuni Maisha

I am sure US is not sleeping and they will roll out even 10G and sell it at a lower price in mainstream and cripple 5G.
let me put it this way… 3D tv came and disappeared as 4K tv flooded the market.
you cannot own technology as it keep advancing and leaving yours behind.

It’s not like Trump banned Huawei blindly. All this things were carefully considered by his crew. He knows that by banning a dominant company, forces others to innovate. And that is one thing those IT firms have the might to do very fast.

Who told you China is not working on 7g 8g 10g 13g?

US tried to convince the world that Huawei is spying on us like as if Yahoo Google FB and Apple are not spying on us.
US trying to compete with China will result in heavy losses. The best option is to accept defeat and retreat.

Na kwani umekunywa nini siku hizi? Or has someone hijacked your handle?

This is not a comment I would expect from you. Umehama democratic party?

[ATTACH=full]316387[/ATTACH]
China hoiyee,[SIZE=2]ata kama wanatukamua[/SIZE], but i like how they are messing with murica’s stance. Hope others follow suite . Its high time Uncle Sam knows he is not the king of the world,
[SIZE=5]meanwhile wacha nikalipe deni ya baba jayden[/SIZE]

The world power is shifting to the far east , the hypocritical western world is dead… they enslaved , colonised and raped us , stole ou resources…sasa they’ll eat humble pie

Who told you US is not working on 60G and 100G?
you need to analyze my statement and not bring incoherent question. Like @Simiyu22 said,
It’s competition between IT firms and innovation will not stop.

stop idolizing china

Saying that China has actually innovated and come up with something original is not idolizing China… It just means that the world has choice… And this is always a good thing. Ama democracy is not about choice. Ama within the nations tukue na democracy but globally ikue single party state?

Why is the fight so big at 5G? Kama wako na 5000G venye unasema si basi waitoe tutumie ama? And using your logic who said China hawana hio 5000G? That logic is not very sound.

[COLOR=rgb(40, 50, 78)]It must hurt, being beaten at your own game.

[COLOR=rgb(40, 50, 78)] The US has toppled governments in a bid to access resources, now they turn around and profess shock at China spying on Huawei owners?

Lol.
That sounds like Trump… the critical thinker who never does anything to excite his base.

If you read what conservative economic scholars have suggested for years, nothing that Trump does is from a new book. Trump has them in his team. They tell him where to poke.

Are leaders supposed to excite their bases or do their job?

Conservatives have also made money in China. There are many who opposed Trump’s candidacy, his presidency and even his policies.

Trump is not a warmonger. He showed Bolton the door. And now Bolton the war hawk is bitter.

A very good question you should be asking the orange clown.

You yourself you have said that a leader should excite his base yaani afanye mazingaombwe badala ya kufanya kazi.

You have a comprehension problem.
Do you understand sarcasm?