Gym smell

Been working out from home. Have lost 15 kgs in the last 12 months I am now in maintenance stage, I have three kgs dumbbells, but they are now too light. Am skeptical on buying another set of weights since eventually they will be light. I am thinking of going to the gym for weight lifting, my fears though

1. Gym smells makes me nauseous, what’s the remedy for this
  2. How much is too much for a woman not to be masculine due to weight lifting.

Case no.1-have you done a pregnancy test? Usituletee mimba kwa gym tafadhali.

You dont have to go to the gym.

Ingia reddit search for a subreddit called bodyweight fitness. On their FAQ page there is a very comprehensive list of exercises and the nutrition to follow for any body type and most importantly you have a guide on how to start and a whole community if you get stuck.
You won’t be exhausting that list anytime soon and it might be cheaper for you in the long run as well.

For a woman, the light weights are ok but the intensity and reps should be going up. Lots of aerobics too as opposed to lifting heavy weights. You can also hit the treadmill or steppers at the gym.

It’s a problem I have had for a long time. Have been a member of three different gyms and none of them I was able to last a week, that’s why after corona and home workouts became a thing I was able to stick through

On it. Thanks

Kuna unaenda gym gani mjamaa?

Find a good gym which is spacious with good air circulation.

The gym I go to is very spacious and I’ve never noticed any smell. Lakini zile gym low budget ndio huwa zinanuka jasho.

I go for a run once a week. To use Treadmill at the gym, how do I cope with gym smell

One misconception people have is that losing weight is becoming healthier. Losing unhealthy levels of body fat up to some point is healthy (extreme body fat loss is also unhealthy). Loosing muscle and bone density is unhealthy, especially as you grow older (osteoporosis).

One can loose unhealthy fat but gain muscle and bone density, and end up gaining weight, but become healthier. Weight loss alone should not be the goal, rather, a healthy body composition - google stephanie mwaura she may convince you

There’s no too much for a woman till they become masculine. You can’t build muscles like a man unless you take steroids. Aim to be the strongest you can be. So yes, join a gym and find a proper reps of 5 strength program. I recommend ‘starting strength dot com’. Find they website and youtube and read/watch what the women say.

Hii kizungu umetoa wapi kivisi?

Tko gym, Muscle health & fitness and latest was at Nairobi sports club. They all had a smell that made me nauseated

I lost 15kgs in a span of 12 months, I started my weight loss journey on 1st August, was that un healthy?

It is not unhealthy if you were loosing excess body fat.

I started at 81kgs and am 5 '3 in height, as per my BMI am still overweight but I want to maintain where I am. My target was to loose a kg per month, the 3 extra were just a bonus.

My gym is odourless, but its kinda expensive

For additional data points, you could do a body composition test and compare that with expected healthy levels.

Where is it? Mind recommending?

It’s either you’re very sensitive or those gyms that you’ve mentioned don’t have sufficient air circulation and good hygiene standards.

Judging by the photos, TKO gym and Muscle Health don’t look they have good air circulation.

Jaribu FirstPower Fitness or Dojo Wellness Club.

Huko First Power fitness siwezi enda, too many youtubers and instagram filming everything and everyone. I Will check out Dojo. Thanks

I see some of our trainers do this sessions for the ladies. For they men its a different routine. We lift heavy weights mostly. Seems like she has more than enough help.