Google Honors Mekatilili

i don’t know why wazungu have to do things we should be doing ourselves…

https://g.co/doodle/xx8jmbx
[ATTACH=full]318453[/ATTACH]

Do you know that in filmmaking there is no recorded African sound? No one knows the true sound of African countries.

When Hollywood filmmakers shoot a movie or a film scene set in Africa they often create imaginary music because there is no real authentic African music to purchase.

The only song that is usually resampled is Jambo Bwana by Them Mushrooms, where the words ‘hakuna matata’ were repurposed for Lion King by Elton John as well as by Jimmy Cliff.

africans do not have pride in their sh!t. hadi wazungus had to take away “hakuna matata” from us. shows how incompetent we are.

Usisahau hadi zile ma kiondo za pale kariokor zilimalizwa na wajapanese after kenya kuwapatia rights and patent to manufacture and sell it under ‘kiondo’ name.

We will honor her and rename the mama Ngina drive as wa mwenza park.
That family ni wezi sugu.

Have you lived in Africa?

[ATTACH=full]318480[/ATTACH]

africans are busy sleeping , tukiamka we wont have minerals , women , land and our population will be full of half chinese kids everywhere coz wanahama huku pole pole

Why?

Because you have never seen an authentic African song and they are everywhere sanasana social gatherings

Mnachezewa akili na Google. io doodle ya mekatilili inaonekana tu hapa kenya only. Mtu anatumia Google akiwa Chad ako na doodle different.

We all already knew this

Like which ones? E.g? Examples???

Most Kenyan songs done today and sang in local languages are an adulteration of Western music. Be it secular or religious. They all use guitars or modern drums and that is not authentic.

There’s Kikuyu or Luo or Luhya Rhumba which is just adulterated American Jazz or swing from the 40s to the 60s. That is not authentic!

By authentic African sound, Hollywood means the Chivoti, Wandindi or Karing’aring’a arranged in a melodic, useable fashion. E.g a sad Kenyan song that can be used in a sad scene in a film .

For example the lullaby known as Windsong put together by James Horner for the movie Mighty Joe Young :

For instance when you think of Australia whether it’s a movie or documentary or Survivor Australia you think of the didjeridu tube.

Whenever you hear this sound, automatically your mind knows that you are watching the outback before you even see the kangaroos :

In any movie or documentary or tv advert, the moment you hear these sounds below you know you are in India! This is the Indian sound. The Sarod and the tabla drums.

Now @Mwanakijiji juu unajiskia mjuaji sana leo tell me the sound of Kenya???

I am talking about mainstream music I am talking about traditional music sang in social functions.

@T.Vercetti there are very authentic/homegrown taarab,kalenjin and luhya music I don’t know other tribes.
Jazz derives it’s sound from Africa also as much Rhumba(Congo) may have borrowed nothing much from jazz African sounds from african instruments give it a distinct African vibe.

Wekelea examples of these songs you are talking about.

Wewe nimekwambia uwekelee examples of said songs/tracks si kunipatia mawaidha as if I don’t know what I’m saying.

Examples!!! Post them!!!

Movie ya Constant Gardener ilitumia ‘Kothbiro’ ya Ayub Ogada kama soundtrack/themesong.
Is that African enough for you @patco ?

Arranged and recorded in England. That hardly qualifies as a Kenyan song by a Kenyan musician. In fact very few Kenyans know Ayub Ogada.

And kothbiro is not a Luo traditional song. It belongs to a category of western music known as world music.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_music

Yaani music that mixes a western sound with an ethnic sound to give it that mass appeal. In short what Ayub Ogada does is exactly what the guys in Hollywood do. They create a sound that is close enough to sound almost like Africa. Close enough to pass!

And they do these by sampling a bunch of cultures then tune it for the western ear.

I wouldn’t be surprised to learn that Kothbiro is sampled from some Finnish lullaby mixed with Luo flavour.

Another example of a world music artiste is Manu Dibango. His,music was close enough to Africa to pass but tuned with mzungu “sensibilities”.

I dont have examples tembea Kenya you will experience

it is but mostly drum beating and shaking kayaba na hiyo ingine pia ni kuruka kama nugu. Very visual music