Expensive Land/property

Why is land/property so expensive in Kenya ?People are struggling and can barely afford to eat ? Who will pay for an 1/8th/acre for millions ? Is is it because for speculation?

willing buyer willing seller

In another forum, someone asked why land in Karen was so expensive, and there’s no pipped sewerage and water ?
Yet elsewhere, Mr. Mwarangethe Njongu, wondered why land should double or triple in price, just because the government has built a road. His case being that, the government used public money to up the infrastructure.

I understand the willing seller part but who is buying these properties ? Kenyans are struggling to pay school fees, Kenyans are struggling to pay rent , Kenyans are struggling with healthcare and so on.
I think only diaspora and tenderpreneurs can afford to buy 12million shillings apartments in south C or 35million shillings apartments in Hurlingham, not regular Kenyans.

@Kangal , Ulizikia wakenya wame invest ksh 163 billion in Bitcoin, na bado unauliza who is buying ?

Bitcoin lost over 50% of its value…investors are not sure if they can withdraw there investments…there is a real panic…either way, can a regular Kenyan afford this crazy property prices ?

boss hujaona the number of V8 landcruisers sasa ziko karibu kutoshana na premio!

Just shows how as a country we love ‘get rich quick schemes’,imagine if that amount was invested in opening up new enterprises, unemployment levels would greatly reduce

Then maybe regular Kenyans should buy land where they can afford it? What’s your point exactly?

My freind who was driving a v8 took me out for lunch, base moja upperhill arabian some thing cuisine.....i payed for our lunch and i gave him  money for petrol....eti pesa ya contract haijaingia bado....fala sana. You might drive a V8 lakini you are broke.
     Regular kenyans cant afford this artificial prices.....Kenya's GDP and property's prices are different.

The one who pays is the one who takes the other for lunch.

That’s capitalism for you. I don’t think there’s anything that can be done to arrest the situation other than wait for the bubble to burst if it will ever burst

naongea V8 kama hii https://s.aolcdn.com/dims-global/dims3/GLOB/resize/708x398/quality/60/https://s.aolcdn.com/commerce/autodata/images/USC60TOS121A022000.jpg

I think the bubble will bust soon in the next 3 years.

Anamaanisha ‘took me out’ juu its the friend who had the vehicle.Donge?!

What parameters did you use to make that conclusion? I can wait to purchase property then if you have useful information.

Please tie those V8s to any legitimate business. While @spear is busy posting development projects here the CSs and the Presidency are busy banking kickbacks. County governments have nothing to show as to why they should be in existence. We are baffled by a road or railway line yet the costs would we know i.e. the real costs would blow our minds. Only public servants who are closer to power and their relatives are getting their buttocks cushioned by extra fat from the sugar rich diets they are buying using public funds.
The only people other than the above who support the actions of this govt are those who have benefitted by securing crumbs of tenders the rest it’s a struggle.

Wacha alipwe hiyo ufukara unadai hatakuwa nayo although if he is a conman he could’ve just conned you lunch money. Hii Nairobi sio jokes. Parasites are also inform of human beings.

just visit the outskirts of town, developers have stopped developing, once for sale houses are not for rent, if anybody bought 40x80 kule past ruai they are now selling at less than what they bought it for…shida ni wakenya just holding on to land for no apparent reason na ni zile ndogo ndogo, I was surprised hadi kuna 30x60 pieces being sold in some places!