Ex-Kemri boss Davy Koech fined Sh19m for fraud

NATIONAL | By Jael Mboga | September 15th 2021

Former Kemri boss Davy Koech has been found guilty of fraudulent acquisition of public property and fined Sh19.6 million.

The case was before Senior principal magistrate Victor Wakumile, who said if Koech is unable to pay, he will serve a six-year jail term.

Koech was accused of transferring Sh19.3 million from Kemri’s bank accounts to his personal accounts when he was MD.

The money was to finance his children’s education abroad.

However, the office of the DPP has said it is dissatisfied with the sentence and will be seeking an enhancement of the same at the High Court.

Small fish! If not Ruto, Jayden, Nyokabi, Odinga and Murathe. Kelele ya chura

Huyo jamaa anashidanga na motivational quotes huko Twitter to impress bonobos.

Steal billion, get fined a million and then get to enjoy your loot as a free man.

Huyo hakuwa small fish. Huyo ni batoto ba Moi.

It’s good news

Until people know the difference between millions and billions, they will applaud small steps.

With a billion, you can spend 1M per day for 2 years 7 months. Or buy 4 mansions in Runda with some spare change

This case started in the early years of Emilio Mwai waKibaki Presidency, that’s 15 plus years. Hii ni oupussy.

Kuna mtu alimtoanisha and his rebuttal was that he was the founding father of KEMRI.

Hushpuppi

Kina Arap Mwisi.

Namjua. The dude was highly qualified. But he fell to the looting era. And unfortunately his collapse started early.

This may appear like baby steps but is still critical in the fight against theft of public property. We need to normalize jailing the corrupt and freezing their assets but in a more timely manner.

We have enough resources to develop and prosper. Recall that KES 2B is stolen daily.

He stole 19m in 1999 which is like 450m today. He gets a slap in the wrist. If you are a thief, would a judge tell you Rudisha hizo nyanya uliiba or go to jail? Criminal courts are not for arbitration bana.

Ni kama wash wash…through judiciary

@sani alisema huyu jamaa ndio aliimarisha KEMRI.Kumbe he is just another fraud

Have you ever asked @sani his tribe?

This is the crudest way to steal public funds. I think I read somewhere that one of his sons who was in the US undertaking pilot training died. Hope the looted funds werent paying for the training.

Unfortunately KEMRI nyinyi mmeijua juzi time ya Covid19. Juweni history ya KEMRI kwanza mjue hamjui

He is a Kenyan Somali from Narok. @sani kataa nilete evidence.