Electric buses in Uganda

Ugandan students at Makerere University have produced their first set of electric buses. [ATTACH=full]304159[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]304160[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]304161[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]304162[/ATTACH]

Is this true for real ?

Centenary Bank is a bank in Uganda.
Everybody else is moving at gear 4 while we in Kenya are reversing.

Producing 1 bus is 1 thing,
Setting up bus production that begins to replace imorted buses is another.
But its a start.

Innovation is not equals to business opportunity especially when it comes to Africa.
In the real world that bus has to compete with the following:

1. Established local bus assembly companies in the region - You simply cant wish kina Isuzu and Scania away. These guys are well established with decades of experience supplying buses to the local market
  2. Foreign bus manufacturers
  • All new NYS buses are chinese brands. This means that the Chinese innovated own buses and were able to market them to Kenya. There are numerous such companies in the world who have years of experience building and selling buses. The Ugandans need to compete with such

In short the easiest line of any business is innovation. The hardest work is getting into commercial production. Turning a profit is another thing all together.

This bus looks exactly like those KU shuttles, BOUGHT 3YEARS AGO. Kwan the interior design. Coincidence?? I don’t think so. So, pelekeni hii PR ya ujinga nahuko

i am actually happy for uganda even tho i hate that stupid pretentious country !

M7 is making good progress, already they r exporting smart fons

M7 is really working while Wanjohi is just gulping vodka in state House

CS Macharia has been promising BRT for how long now? Maybe they haven’t figured out a way to slice off a few billions from that project

They can’t initiate a project that won’t generate billions for their bottomless pockets.

i can see Mapeera building in the background

but you can’t right them off like that, xiaomi phones were unheard off ten years ago, nokia and the rest had the market, they can simply produce enough for Uganda government at first, they don’t have to start competing with the isuzus and the rest.

Museveni is looking to get elected next year or something, he is funding odd propaganda projects anything that brings some goodwill while achieving absolutely nothing, don’t fall for it…

He has been participating in elections since 1981 and always winning. Why can’t he just declare himself life president?!

PR or not, UG benefits.

[ATTACH=full]304305[/ATTACH]

Generally, Ugandans/other Africans were saying stuff like that about Arap Nyayo when he launched the NYAYO PIONEER.

Mgala muuwe lakini haki yake mpe…this is impressive.