DSThieves to offer Netflix and Amazon on its new decoder

If you can beat them join them

MultiChoice Group Ltd signed deals with Netflix Inc and Amazon.com Inc to offer their streaming services through its new decoder, a move intended to help Africa’s largest pay-TV company retain subscribers.
MultiChoice, spun out of Naspers Ltd in February of last year, has been battling greater competition from its US rivals after cheaper and faster internet speeds enabled them to grab a foothold on the continent. The Johannesburg-based company introduced its own streaming product, called Showmax, in 2015 and has offered cheaper deals on premium packages to shore up its customer base.
Details on how the move could affect MultiChoice’s monthly fee will be announced in the coming weeks, a spokesman said on Wednesday.

“What would typically happen is we would get commission on whatever revenue gets generated by customers coming from our platform,” chief financial officer Tim Jacobs said in a phone interview, without being specific about Netflix and Amazon. The deals were included in MultiChoice’s results presentation, published on its website, under the heading ‘Improve Retention’.
The shares jumped on the news, gaining 8.5% to 102.62 rand at the close in Johannesburg, the highest in almost four months.
Local Content

MultiChoice said subscriber numbers rose by 5% in the year through March to 19.5 million households, with demand picking up at the end of that period as South Africa, its biggest market, entered a coronavirus lockdown.
The company offers a wide variety of international sport to its highest paying viewers, but has also been focusing more on local content. “Trackers”, a show about organized crime including diamond smuggling set in Cape Town, was MultiChoice’s most-viewed show in the 2020 fiscal year, beating the final season of international hit “Game of Thrones”, the company said.
Netflix has also made an effort to produce more African content. Dramas “Queen Sono” and “Blood and Water”, both South African, debuted on the service this year, supported by extensive marketing campaigns.
“There is little overlap between content on Showmax, that is now 50% local, and a service like Netflix at the moment, hence we find deals with other video-on-demand services complementary,” said Jacobs.
Deals between pay-TV providers and streaming services have been struck elsewhere. Sky UK and France’s Canal+ both have agreements with Netflix.
MultiChoice reported full-year earnings per share of 1.17 rand, compared with a loss the previous year. The company announced a maiden final dividend of R5.65 a share.
The full impact of the Covid-19 pandemic on the business is as yet unknown, MultiChoice said, adding that it expects weaker economic growth and higher unemployment in many of its markets. The TV provider continues to film local productions, taking specific precautions such as splitting production teams, Jacobs said.

If there is no incorporation of internet bundles, they’ll still sink. I mean all that a person requires to acess Netflix and Amazon is just a internet device and they good. Why would they require an extra decorder when there are smart TVs all over the place and firesticks the size of my thump??

How much is dstv btw?

My question exactly. They don’t know it but it’s the dumbest move ever.
Who is their CEO? He should be hanged for making such a decision.

Lol, I already have Netflix though so why would I need a decoder just to get it?

Sijui nani huwa ana advice DSTV

With smart tvs all over and cheap internet Netflix unaipata pap.

The horse bolted long time ago

Cjambilecho wahenga siku ya nyani kufa sikio la punda halisikii dawa.

Good business decision. Many businesses survive not because they offer anything useful, but because many people are dumb.

Huh!? No subscription?

Dumb ass.

wacha i enjoy

unatumia gani hii

Precisely, I think where they’ll be banking on is the customers without smart tvs or the non-compliant ones that reject apps. Imagine Amazon or Netflix getting a hold of Sport streaming rights , they’ll have no branch left to hang on.

stb emulator

How absolutely helpful!! Thank you sir!

FHD?? Apart from sports kuna any other FHD channels??

Like our safaricom. Shafts Kenyans sawa and take money back to UK .

Share your secret…How do you achieve this?

This has been such a tough time for multi choice. They have tried everything. From outright fighting tax laws to hinder Netflix adoption on its core African territories, they have invested in their own platform, Showmax which is minting losses like nonsense. Showmax has been supportive of the local content and shows but now Netflix is also as receptive and we have seen most of the major African film and TV series releases going to Netflix lately.

The only thing they have going for them is Sports licensing and it is only a matter of time before Netflix gets here