Does becoming a Web Developer require a degree?

I would like to become a front end web developer after getting my diploma in computing but i would like to know if its possible for me to get a job considering that i wont have a degree.

Most tech jobs hire on the basis of what you can do and your portfolio, papers are just an added advantage. It’s more or less like radio jobs. The highest paid radio hosts have never even stepped in a media school, the likes of Jalas. So if you can, get the papers but let your skills and hands on experience do the talking.

Ok you can look at
www. freecodecamp.org and the Odin project good luck.

You don’t even need high school education to become a serious coder

Then why do most of the Job adverts seem to mention BS/MS in Computer Science as a requirement? Can i still apply without those qualifications or is it cumpolsory

truth b told alot of guys apply for this jobs n at tyms they give a cutline of a bsc in computer science

liar… You can do without

nigger are u one…most companies put a cut line for a degree but u can code for small companies without a degree

by the way , do you have an idea of guys who are hiring… ?

I’ll respond as an observer not as a participant in the industry so pardon me if some views are not accurate.
Tukiwa 2nd Year about 3 buddies dropped out wakaenda Andela. They Never completed their degrees and they are doing very well .
Absent Andela, the work you can do ie. Your portfolio is your biggest asset. Papers can be important in getting you an interview but if your work is brilliant, it will speak for you.
A classmate of mine last year observed that software developer jobs were ever posting for vacancies. He delved to learn. I remember referring him to w3schools. He build websites and linked them to mobile phone apps. He’d then apply for jobs and include the project. I don’t remember the name of the company but he did get employment some time back.
He’s a true genius though, can figure anything out, among the few I have met.
Thaz it.

https://www.google.com/search?sxsrf=ALeKk02XSRN3229iBfDGlXntAFM9fv71DQ%3A1591274901062&ei=le3YXueqA6LMxgPSvrCACg&q=software+engineering+jobs+in+kenya&oq=software+engineering+jo&gs_lcp=ChNtb2JpbGUtZ3dzLXdpei1zZXJwEAEYADICCAAyAggAMgIIADICCAAyAggAMgIIADICCAAyAggAOgQIABBHOgQIABBDOgcIABCDARBDUMwRWN4ZYPImaABwAXgAgAHlAogB8waSAQUyLTIuMZgBAKABAQ&sclient=mobile-gws-wiz-serp#fpstate=tlexp&htiq=software%20engineering%20jobs%20in%20kenya

see where you qualify and apply

but i hope you know andela fired like 1/2 of its employees and they are only employing senior developers my point is that yes you can do it without a degree but its still something that will help you alot

Andela broke my heart last year. Weh. I was on the way to an internship had just received the acceptance then wakatuma barua that they had a meeting and wouldn’t be taking in interns for 2019/2020. Machoooos.
Of course papers are good. They show competency.
Bila papers is hard. But it shouldn’t stop someone juu kuna watu hawana na hawawezi afford kupata juu ya fee manenos.
Tech fields are usually good juu your work is your brand. Ni kazi ngumu lakini.

This was my point all along,you can do without a degree but a degree is critical for later eyes,contracts,big positions etc…in the long run

Lakini kuna a part of development people without degrees overlook, and to be at par with msee wa computer science(who took it seriously), they must learn those details; Algorithms and Datastuctures, Operating Systems, Low level programming(C, Assembly, etc), Abstract Computational theory(especially if unataka kuingia into AI), etc.

Actually a cs degree doesn’t teach you a lot of programming(Huge misconception in many people’s minds out there), what it does is dig deep in the history and abstract concepts of Computer Science that are language or platform indipendent. For example you will learn about OS, how for example a linux kernel works how it is bootstrapped on startup, multithreading, multiplexing, then stuff like compilers and how a programming language is designed(Stuff like Common Language Runtime e.g .NET ya Microsoft), and loads of other basics but critical stuff to mold you into a Software Engineer not a Software Developer, a person who can understand code from the high-level variable declaration down to the register/memory location where it is stored in the machine.

The failure in our system is that people really don’t know how they will use the stuff being taught during the curriculum, I remember foolishly lamenting on the fact that we are being taught seemingly non-coding concepts like UDP and TCP network protocols until I realized this year while working on a related project they are the same concepts used in websockets for virtually any web communication. Some uninformed people also blame the curriculum itself, but my CS degree(from little known Chuka University) had almost 80% similarity in course content with Stanford Uni(One of the leading producers of top SWE talent in Silicon valley).
After a single year in job market and having to re-teach myself basic stuff like practical implementation of datastructures, I blame only myself for not knowing really what the CS degree was all about, and instead of taking the relevant concepts seriously I just crammed for the exam and passed. A teacher should not spoon-feed you practical knowledge, this is something a student must seek on their own.

Back to the necessity of a CS degree or not; If you want to be a Web developer i.e a Software Developer you can absolutely make-it with simple or no certification but with a decent knowledge in practical skills and a portfolio of projects to show for it. You will have to overcompensate for the lack of a CS background but if you really put in the effort you can compete with the best.
But if your interest is to be a Software Engineer who is not necessarily interested in building just web apps(or just any other consumer facing software) but have a greater interest in the low level Software Engineering stuff like(building linux kernels, streaming engines and other infrastructure based software) then doing a Computer Science degree with a deep personal interest is the best path.

I am not discounting the fact that most CS concepts can be self-taught, you can easily go on youtube and watch MIT Courseware lectures on something like advanced Graph traversal algorithms, but this will be significantly hard to do on your own as opposed to attending real-life lectures over a three-four year span.

My advice is go for self-learning if you want to get your foot in the door in web-developement, it doesn’t require any abstract concepts to learn HTML, CSS, SASS, JavaScript and React/Vue/Angular for front-end dev, but later(say two or three years in) if you are interested in deeper knowledge(mostly required for complex backend dev or large-scale UIs) you can teach yourself and implement some helpful concepts like datastructures(stacks, arrays, trees, heaps, etc) and complexity analysis of programs( there are many others but start with these two) .
I can assure these will up your game in coding and if you apply them in your code, they will bridge that knowledge gap between practical and basic cs concepts. Just remember do lots and lots of Frontend/UI/Design related projects and add them to your portfolio and always be doing a personal or freelance project, even when you land a job.

To get a clear picture on the current options on frontend vs backend vs fullstack career path in web-development watch this video by Brad

sasa wewe umeamua kuleta Theories za Class hapa, mu friend those things that you are saying only happen to 1st world countries, huku 3rd world, kwa ground vitu ni different, corruption in workplaces, lack of resources, lack of research and the list goes on… usilete expecations zako za mtu analearn Stanford with Super Computers, Mac book 128Gb Ram, world class research centers na mtu ako chuka Uni with barely decent chairs na 2Gb Ram refurbished laptops.

OK

I’m just trying to depict the reality. Sijui nini haukuelewa hapo because I have clearly offered OP sound advice when it comes to self learning.

[COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)][SIZE=7]BONOBO MENTALITY!!![/SIZE]

Lol bro you need to change your mentality moving forward and remove the word " can’t " , " lack of ", “no funds” ndio we can attain vision 2330 change begins inside your head , 2gb ram is enough to achieve greatness.
am sure you would be frustrated working with a punch card
fyi 4k word ram ( about 10kb ) didn’t stop the late Dennis Richie from creating a C Compiler nor did it stop Linus from creating the Linux kernel with 4mb ram having spent about $3500