Does anyone have an idea of How To Start A Record Label In Kenya.

I’ve wanted to start a record label for a while now and I can’t find any reliable articles on the internet. If you can offer some advice or know how to go about it, I would really appreciate it. Thanks.

You can start by talking to @Sambamba from Kahawa Sukari village. He is the local jack of all trades from IT to real estate to selling ballistic missiles to music producer, you name it, sambamba does it all or knows someone who does it all.

Or you can just focus on our local talent pool yaani ma-upcoming.

Tukianza na Kinyozi kutoka Ruaka yaani @Tom Bayeye . He plays the saxophone and has dreams of becoming a Kikuyu Rockstar.
We also have @ShabbaRanks a very emotional guy. That one just keep your distance. He is into heavy metal and witchcraft.

And last but not least from Ndumberi we have @King Robert Baratheon another Kiambu rockstar wannabe hommie yoyo.

You can find all three idiots at Rock clubs in Westlands on Karaoke night trying to be rock gods hoping a mzungu producer will walk in and give them all recording deals. SMMFH

[ATTACH=full]331076[/ATTACH]

Or you can talk to the old school cats the likes of @Abba who had his own Luhya boys band based in Vihiga in the 1960s. They produced six albums but Abba never struck gold like his younger brother Daudi Kabaka.

Now Abba is old as fu.ck. He witnessed the Emergency War when he worked as a cook in Kitale. I don’t know how he is still alive and going strong.

Ukoragwo na wana muno :D:D:D:D

I can only imagine NV’s confusion :smiley:

Ghasia

NVchieth, if you want to start something you just start. Nothing hard.

NV chungana na kijiji,sphincter yako ishapigwa rada:D

Starting a label is purely equipment, let’s say 2 mics if ur not struggling. The problem is getting the right producer, they will use your location to boost their recording studio in their bedroom

@T.Vercetti do us all a favour and hang yourself you slimy turd.

Go to River Road and look for the cheapest producers. You will grow up in the proffesion with time

get a good producer ,mcsk licence and create social media pages to post your content, thats it ,…

@MicJiggle Thanks for the information. Those licenses are what I wasn’t able to get a clear read about.

Deep pockets and a good production team. Siku hizi studio ni laptop na mic tu

How you promote your artist apate shows gigs and TV appearances ndio itakudifferentiate from all the kaka empires and Blue Inks of Nairobi

deep pockets ni bullshit

mcsk certs ujipeleke kichinjio?

kwani all the others didn’t start small i.e. with what they had?
bora utoke [SIZE=4]MIZIKI WATU WANATAKA[/SIZE][SIZE=3] [/SIZE][SIZE=4]the rest will handle itself, lakini that doesn’t mean ulale kwa kazi[/SIZE]

[SIZE=4]look at what Master P did, What Curre$y did, what Birdman Cash Money did. tukirudi apo kwa MIZIKI WATU WANATAKA, if you can’t spot that kind of talent and believe in it, then you had better be it, otherwise it’s not just a business a non music person can half-arse or it will give you a (non) nice ream job.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=4]especially if itahang apo kwa baby steps. sio lazima ukue na producers, nowadays you can outsource everything, beatmaking to engineering and pr… so there you go.[/SIZE]

You just need a good producer(Kuna alot of young underground guyz) and ukuwe na wasanii wawili unaaminia…Pesa enough ya kupush wasanii wajulikane…If your guyz are good you are in business
Our lastborn alijifunza video production from the comfort of his crib …Tulimnunulia tu lappy na camera…Saa hizi ni camera crew wa Perfect wedding ya multichoice.You just need to start small and learn how things w;rk.

1.Tayarisha pesa mingi.
2.Register the record label and get all the paperwork in order.
3. Have a lawyer draft watertight boilerplate contracts for the artists, studio guys and copyright.
4. Buy your own studio equipment to avoid headaches of kurushwa.
5. Hire quality music writers, sound engineers, and producers. Take advantage of the internet and the gig economy to hire sessional manpower. On Fiverr there are very capable writers and music arrangers.
6. Scout for talent.
7.Market on the social media platforms.

Cheki huyu anaongelea wasee wa 90s in 2020
Birdman’s dad was a millionaire who bankrolled him to start. Master P nakubali he put in work but luck also played a role in his success. Those guys made money coz they were producing and pressing the CDs and selling them in shows, the hood etc. The cheapest was $10 so you can imagine. Sahi nani anabuy music like that.
Music business is hard to break into kaa ukijua. That’s why we have like 20 big artists whole of Kenya

gerraura here, kwani Nipsey Hussle (though I didn’t mention him) was a 90s nigga when he came with a model that impressed Jigga? Birdman na weezy walijifungia studio wakasema it’s make it or make it, uliskia billionaire dad wapi?
Currensy ni wa 90s pia?

Social media marketing ni a step up from the street cd selling, but saai ka your shit is wack, mtu atajua immediately. Kama master p angekua wack, he also would have lucked out with just a couple sales. Can’t fool everyone, so if the CDs were aight, return sales guaranteed pronto. so unasahau no matter how much wangepress, if it was ass, wangejipanga na merch/products zao. GOOD MUSIC MATTERS.

Kubreak ni publicity inamatter so lazima vigorous marketing. pesa utawai hitaji sana niya marketing. That’s how Post Malone blew up.

BOTTOM LINE:

GOOD MUSIC, EXCESS PUBLICITY. the rest will fall into place.