daylight robbery after withdrawals

A worrying trend in the last couple of weeks in the country’s capital Nairobi now has police, bank operators and their customers in constant worry following at least four incidents of customers being robbed of their money shortly after conducting various transactions.
The latest incident saw a man sustain gunshot injuries after being shot at by gunmen aboard a motorcycle.
According to preliminary reports, the man had just withdrawn Sh1.1 million from Family Bank, Donholm branch and while on the road, he was later ambushed at the Cabanas bus termius when the incident occurred.
“We want to know how they knew he went for the money. The gang is on the run but we will get them,” said Embakasi Sub-County Police Commander John Nyamu.
The man who was shot on the groin has been admitted at the Mater hospital.
“From the bank, the victim boarded a matatu to Taj Mall where he alighted and took a boda boda to Cabanas to do some transaction near Cabanas stage along Mombasa road,” he further said.
The victim is said to have initially resisted attempts by the gunmen to rob him of his money but his efforts proved futile.
Detectives have now launched a manhunt for the gunmen as well as a pursuit for the bodaboda operator who dropped him off at Cabanas stage.
Kenyans have now been encouraged to be extra vigilant while withdrawing huge amounts of money from banks and preferable seek security if need be.
Other Daylight Robbery Incidents
Just last week,police commenced a search for a gang of three men who robbed a man Sh414,000 that he had withdrawn from a bank in Utawala area in Nairobi county.
The victim who is an administrator of a computer school in Mihango area had withdrawn the money from a bank and took an Uber back to the school when a car that had been trailing him blocked their way and hijacked them at about 2pm.
The thugs took control of the car and drove towards Karagita area near Nairobi River where they dumped both the driver and the victim before escaping with the money.
The matter was reported to the area police.
In a similar failed incident, an accountant working at a local academy in Karen escaped being robbed Sh100,000 he had withdrawn from a bank in Galleria mall.
The accountant told police people who had tried to block his way along Bogani Road claimed to be police officers but he drove past their blockade avoiding the robbery.
Police are investigating both incidents, with preliminary investigations revealing that it could have been an inside job.

Citizens should be provided with guns. After all, thugs have them in plenty

Withdraw 1.1 mil then go board a matatu,then bodaboda to do some transactions? Aih… Watu pia wajipende…

Bankers are poorly paid. They get commissions when they tip off thugs.

Local birrioneas let’s share how we withdraw huge amounts of money and walk away unharmed.

Mimi I usually make sure niko na gari naendesha. From bank naingia kwa jalopy. When am sure sijafuatwa, I park anywhere and get on a boda. Nikiwa kwa boda naitisha Uber which will take me to my final destination.

Gari natumana iendewe baadae. Plus hio wiki I make myself scarce. Nikimaliza project nabaki na pesa ya kujificha kwa single matha.

Hii fear yako inaitwa Nicholas Biwott syndrome

Jamaa nikama anabeba nuclear codes

This is too much work…siku hizi any project that requires more than 500k cash - I opt for electronic transfer.

There was a day I went to withdrawal 600k hapo Ridgeways mall. The bank didn’t have the 1000 notes - Nikapewa 500s. I just sensed iko kitu and aborted the mission. Afterwards noted a car trailing me - niki overtake ana overtake! Took a detour to Runda hapo Githogoro and thought I had lost the trail - wapi!

Its not a good situation to be.

Malizia hekaya mkuu.

Y

You if given one, utaua Bibi Na Ile mpango yake ya Kando 1st thing

Lost the trail momentary and drove straight to Runda police post and reported the suspicious car following me.

As I was narrating the story - I received a phone call asking me “Niko wapi specifically” and that I need to go back to the bank to pick “Documents” ati nimesahau.

The police became interested and requested for the number that called me.

After 3 Days, the police called me and said the number belonged to a Security Guard at the same bank.

Nguvu ya kuwithdraw noti za 1M inatoka wapi? Why not write a cheque or just wire directly, pay the transaction fees and save yourself the hassle of looking over your shoulder?

A fool and his money…

Bank transfers ama cheques,i sleep soundly

Kinyosssss una afford aje kalamu ya kuandika check aje. While you survive on mushara wa ígoto.

Guns mean power. The Government does not want the citizens to compete with it… they want to use guns to intimidate them… So, this will not happen!

Ni nini mnaficha ama biashara gani hii hamtaki kutumia cashless transactions?
Mnahatarisha maisha bure.
Mimi anything above 50k, transfer electronically. It is even easy to trace your transactions with people.

I transfer anything above 50bob electronically.
Why waste time travelling to the bank, queing in the bank, transacting, the travel Back and still be charged same amount or more?
That’s too much exposure.

Wewe unatembeza pesa kiufala na tumesota

There are many bonobos who still believe they must do things the old way