CARS HAVE CRAZY HIDDEN COSTS

Guys, how true is this?
[ATTACH=full]329573[/ATTACH]

Very true. I spend 18k on fuel per month. Each quarter, service costs me 13k on average.
Weka 250 every 3 days ya car wash. 25k every year for tires.

These are not hidden costs. Every machine needs maintenance. Kwani when you buy a car you expect it to run on air? What are these “crazy hidden costs?”

Convenience/mobility always results to spending more money than you normally would. That’s the true hidden cost of owning a vehicle. Road trips, girls, evening dinners/events, family functions, nyama choma, etc…most of which you would have ignored when you were young and broke. In my experience, those are the real hidden costs of owning a vehicle. The hidden costs are from the convenience provided by the car.

Ni ukweli. Why do you think kungurus love car owners? It’s a good sign that uko na pesa ya kutupa ovyo ovyo. Though most car owners in Kenya can’t afford to keep the car pristine, so they run it into the ground before doing any maintenance

Get a reliable japanese brand na maintain it well. In my experience with jap cars, fuel will be your main cost. But if you work from home, the fuel costs are largely reduced together with other mantainance costs.

So it deepends on your current context

Boss, kwaniiiiiii izo ni tyres gani unachange yearly. Tyres should last you years. I’m on my third year na zinakaa mpya bado.

Pia service kwani unaweka parts gani hizo… (I’m assuming you have a Japan car) good parts should last you at least 6 months.
I’m still using spark plugs nliweka 2018 Dec. They were costly though at Ksh. 9500. The guy who sold them to me alisema ziko rated for 40k Km. So far so good.

Check vitu unaweka. Zinakupeleka loss.

Shida hizi costs hukupata saa zile hauna pesa

Insurance? Comprehensive at 4.5% x 1,500,000 = 67,500. Na kama ni V8 ya 7m, then insurance is >300,000 pa.

Boss that’s a white lie. Go for a car of your choice na uwezo wako.

Gari ni kama yule bibi entitled hawezi fanya chochote.

A car can exceed all other of your expenses combined.

Plugs gani hizi

mimi jeep naendesha once or twice a month. my office is at home i go for outings on motorbike.hizo cost ni gani sasa

That shows people can spend money if they are given a reliable and convenient public transport system. Shida matatu zetu haziezi survive mahali kuna order

If you distribute the cost of comprehensive cover per month and you also distribute monthly the cost of service 2 or 3 times a year, then you add the cost of fuel and assume that once a year you will change something like battery, tyres or something else, then you eventually see that cars have a high monthly cost that can be 20k on the lower side. Not to mention that a car is a depreciating asset so ideally a normal person driving a car worth 700k or more loses around 30k per month on average if you factor in depreciation. If you drive a german machine which is guaranteed to ask for funny funny service things like oxygen sensors, brake sensors and such random things every 6 months plus faster depreciation…that cost can go up to 60k per month. Also, dont forget parking costs which can add up when you enter these malls or town.

This is by design. Public sector transport was neglected so that people can make money investing in matatus, selling boda bodas and so on.

Depreciation, opportunity cost, insurance.

Nilibuy apo Toyota Kenya ya Kirinyaga Road. Unapeana chassis number unapewa part. Kuna time pia nlibuy brake pads za 12,500 kwa hio shop. Zililast karibu miaka tatu. But nowadays nachukua Inda. Things are cheaper there.

Ni gari gani?