Career guidance: saidieni huyu ndugu yangu.

There is a close friend of mine who needs some serious advice regarding the career of his kid. He is in his forties and his first born son just entered campus the other day. The kid is in first year pursuing computer science. However, the father feels that the kid should leave that course and go for a diploma or certificate in a technical course. Father fears the prospect of kid graduating and lacking a job since the Kenyan job market is becoming a dry place and also the fact that he will have spent money and time. However the kid is adamant that he should continue with his degree course. How should he deal with the matter?

Let the kid finish the degree and afterwards supplement it with z technical course.

Ild advice him to do a health related course. Ni hayo tu

Aachane na ndingirii?

Amnunulie kazi kijana asome akishapata kazi, kununua kazi Kenya haitaji hata degree. Inahitaji to pesa na connections.

Computer science is a great course. If he learns anything in that course he won’t need to seek employment anywhere.
We are on the information age and innovative in IT will only increase. Am an engineer by profession and can confirm our jobs are limited compared to my IT peeps

I dont even think doctors are assured of ready jobs these days, anyway my opinion let him do what he is most comfortable at, be good at what he does and try make use of free time in campus in as many social circles/events related to he is doing. Siku za assured job ziliisha.

on the computer science, if he want to stick with that I would advice him afanye as many maths units as possible, this data science thing seems like it will maintain its values for the next ten years at least.

Trudat. The whole world has gone digital and Rona brought things to the forefront, kids are learning online, parents working from home online, shopping online IT IT IT. But there is nothing wrong with some technical qualifications either.
Kijana amalize degree alafu afanye technical course.

Sandeni sana

Tell your close friend to advise his son not to have sex when young or use protection so as not to make the same mistake he did. 40 with a kid in university…? Alifanya ngono mapema sana.

He married immediately after clearing high school. He is 42 and his kid is 20

It is not his call. Let the kid choose his career path.

Exactly. I was also advising him to let the kid complete his degree and then enroll him for a technical course

A computer scientist is like a mechanic or plumber. The highly skilled ones make millions. So sioni haja ya kumuingiza technical course because computer science IS a technical course in itself. Maybe atakuwa pro na asome kwa bidii since that is evidently his passion and if he is good enough he will never have to worry about work. I have friends who work at Andela na wengine hata hawakusoma comp science yet they get fairly decent wages and business trips to the USA every now and then. Let the kid do his thing and you can think of plan B only after plan A has failed. His chosen career path is highly rewarding if he puts in the work. Akitaka poa a-graduate with honors.

Sure

Let the boy pursue the career anataka. Mzazi asiingilie, maybe advice but not force. I pursued Electrical engineering. We were 85 in our class. 5 years after graduating, I would say maybe 15-20 in that class wako na kazi or businesses making them a net of 50k and above. The rest maisha imewakalia mbaya including the top guy in the class(the only student with first class honors). Jamaa wengi wako pale kwa muhindi wanafanya kazi Monday to Saturday only to pocket 30k or less per month, yes, engineering graduates.

Life is hard man, graduates ni wengi siku hizi, no guarantees of opportunities after the five years of serious hard work. So I will repeat, let the boy pursue his career of choice

CS ni technical course.
Ile kitu naweza fuatilia zaidi ni certification. Microsoft, AWS, IBM etc

Thanks

Sawa mdau

The worst idea ever! Medical courses do not pay well. Computer science is dope. That is a technical area too. In the USA people earn a (or at least an associate degree, takes two years of study) before deciding on what to do later. Most lawyers have a BA history degree before going to law school, while all doctors must have a bsc biology qualification