Buying a plot that has no title

I’m saving up to invest in a plot or farming land. A came across a plot for sale in a remote part of South Ngariama in Kirinyaga County.
A plot measuring 40x80ft sells at Sh40,000. It is near a murramed road. No power, even though locals claim there are plans to install electrcity.
The downside is that the plot has no title deed. The buyer agrees with the owner in the presence of the elders then effects the sale at the County Government of Kirinyaga lands department. The buyer’s name is appended in the register and he will then get title deed when titling is done (not clear when that shall happen).
Should I go ahead with such a purchase or it is risking my hard earned money?

How dumber can you go? You need someone to hit your head with a mallet to get you to have common sense. Just go ahead and get the shafting bila lube that you deserve

Go ahead na ukwom na hekaya

that one parcel will be bought by 50 people this week only…and in all the cases the “elders” will be present…na zote will involve county’s land dept…that i assure you…

Wewe nunua uskie vile wanaume wengine huskia.
Kama Sonko alikuwa anauza beach plots he doesn’t own in his 20’s what are you?
Jipige kifua nunua plot ama uanze kuvaa pink underwear.

On a positive side it good learning curve for you…Success does not come without Risk. You can buy a Range rover which be so cool to evrybody to see but it can as well as Crash.

Huyu amekuja hapa kupima tu watu level ya ignorance…

Wee ebu toka hapa,nenda nje upige hodi.
Unaingia fwaaaaa unafikiri huku ni chooo.
Halafu hapa we contribute vitu za maana,based on your comment kijana mdogo hapa uta struggle,rudi fb

Just do some more research diligently na upite nayo you might get a better deal in the process

Nunua kama una cash ya kufence na kuimiliki plus an investment plan tayari ya kurudisha your 40k plus capital sunken plus faida fasta fasta…

I have seen peeps make good money out of such cheap plots and then sell them off or just let them be as soon as the cash they invested plus profits has returned…

Shida ya watu ni attachment Mingi…

Cheap is expensive. By the time you secure the land by getting a title deed you will have spent the same amount of money buying a slightly more expensive plot.

It’s the same deal I got in Mwea for a few acres- same conditions .
Question is , are you a risk taker ? Is that money you can afford to loose?
The only thing you need to be very sure of is the land has no family disputes.

Buy the land, but record the entire transaction with a good video recorder. Involve the local chief too. Ask villagers nearby about the true ownership before buying. That’s how land is bought in rural Kenya. Watu wa ka 50 by 100 pale syokimau na kitengela hawatakusaidia.

Other than the obvious, why would you be interested in a 40x80 plot in the middle of nowhere without even electricity?
What is this thing with land obsession that makes Kenyans not think?

My advice is: DON’T!

You can buy the plot BUT it will NEVER be YOURS. The larger Mwea area was historically a settlement scheme and no individual titles were issued. There are also a myriad of claims that most of the land is community land and not private land.

The plot is located in an upcoming shopping centre. It currently has about five permanent shops (built rural style), three churches and an ECDE ccenrte.

This area has an issue with title deeds. In fact, very few people have title deeds. The use of wazee, chiefb and sales agreement is highly used. Niko hii side ya south, makish, na I have bought one or two under a similar arrangement.

Very true. The land is this area is a settlement scheme but we shall deal with it when the time comes. We have dealt with it before.

If you conducted enough for due diligence, go ahead and buy the parcel of land. Some things aren’t worth over-thinking at all.