Business Name registration

What’s the next step after name search and reservation…

This is to confirm that the above name is reserved for the next 30 days…

What must I do within those 30 days and what will happen if I don’t?

It will be made available for use. Again, if you want to make use of it after it expires you must reserve it at the same cost above… That is, if it will not have been reserved by some other persons

Bado sielewi. What exactly does reservation mean? Is there something I’m supposed to do within those days? Is the name ready to use?

Means that nobody else is able to register it formally… In those days, you are supposed to actually register it formally… that is the next step after which you will have a registration certificate… and use it for your business, open bank accounts… etc The name is not ready for use until you lodge the registration certificates and attach the required documents…

Thanks a lot. This is the explanation I was looking for. Its not logical they didn’t give instructions on the next step it’s like they assume everyone knows everything. Can formal registration be done online?

Government officers are the only ones who can register such business names and others, so they do not care about customer service.

Searched on net and seen like I’ve already applied for registration. I paid 950 na naona 100 is for reservation, 800 for registration and 50 for convenience fee. I also filled form BN2 and submitted. This was done today. The other requirements naona ni KRA pin cert na passport of which they have not requested. Let me wait from Monday

Sawa… Check it up… But that is what you need to do… all done online…

Nowadays they have integrated name search and registration for both companies and business names. They first approve the name(s) as you wait for the registration certificate. If there are correctionts they will notify you on the platform. Otherwise just wait for the registration certificate the same place you got the name reservation.

Thanks. They actually asked for a correction which I did. Online has really made things easy

Mission complete. Registration certificate has come. Thanks for your input guys.

Thread officially closed

Congratulations

For posterity, kindly list the A-Z of business registration e.g. documentation required, sites, etc.

Thanks

That is good… I wish you well…

Asante sana. So kind of you

1. Prerequisites: you must have the following
    a. KRA pin
    b. Ecitizen account https://www.ecitizen.go.ke/
    c. Softcopy passport
  2. Open and log in to your ecitizen account
  3. Scroll to business name registration, click ‘apply now’
  4. Put your preferred business names in priority order. Minimum is three entries. NB single names won’t pass. Save and continue
  5. A new tab opens. Fill your details; name, capacity, address. Fill nature of business also. Save and continue
  6. Another new tab. Fill the business registered details; primary address, building, street, mobile number, email address. Save and continue
  7. Another new tab. Ownership information. Select +add proprietor. Fill your details. Here your KRA pin will be automatically detected and filled including your birthday. Upload passport
  8. The next stage is payment. Use your preferred means.
  9. A BN2 form will be availed. Download and sign. It’s in pdf format. For me I used coreldraw to input my signature and save the signed form in pdf. Then upload the form.
  10. If there are corrections, they will request you you to correct within hours. When everything is ok, your registration should be ready in a day. Download and you are done.
    Payment is Shs950

I may not have covered everything entirely but those steps should get you home.

Thanks for the detailed post.

This will come in handy for many.

You can actually do the whole process using a phone. I used a phone except the signature point. (Infinix, wiko and other such gadgets pretending to be phones won’t work :D)

Sasa ngojea lube ya KRA…you shouldn’t have registered anything…