Bubonic Plague in the US?

Plague squirrels spread ‘Black Death’ in Colorado and kill teenage boy in Mongolia
Justin Vallejo
July 17, 2020, 8:48 PM
Geert Weggen/SWNS
The “Black Death” has returned to Colorado after an infected squirrel passed the bubonic plague onto a human in the state for the first time in five years.

It comes as health authorities continue to monitor an outbreak of bubonic plague after a 15-year-old boy died in Mongolia from eating an infected marmot, a type of ground squirrel.

The World Health Organisation, meanwhile, is “carefully” watching China after local authorities ordered a herdsman near the border of Mongolia to quarantine in an effort to prevent the spread of the deadly infection.

The Black Death has made somewhat of a comeback in recent years after ravaging Europe in the middle ages. It has been classified as a re-emerging disease, with the WHO estimating between 1,000 to 2,000 infections annually.

Between one to 17 cases of human plague are reported in the US each year, with four people killed by the Black Death in the country in 2015, according to the Centres for Disease Control and Prevention.

The most recent case was spread from an infected squirrel that tested positive in Jefferson County last week, according to the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment.

“Plague has been present in Colorado since at least the 1940s, and cases in wild rodents in Colorado are reported most years,” said Dr Jennifer House, state public health veterinarian.

“While we see most plague activity during the summer, the disease can be found in rodents year-round and sometimes spills over into other wildlife species as well as domestic cats and dogs.”

While no other cases were identified, health experts warned residents to take precautions to lower the risk of transmission during this time of year when the plague is more present in the state. There is no vaccine to prevent the spread of the plague, but if caught early it can be treated with antibiotics in both people and pets. Symptoms include fever, headache, chills, weakness, and tender, and painful lymph nodes.

The health department confirmed that the Colorado patient recovered, and that the version of the disease was septicemic plague, which is in the blood and cannot be spread to other people.

“The disease is most commonly spread by the bite of an infected flea but also may be transmitted by infected animal tissues, fluids, or respiratory droplets,” the health department said in a statement.

A version of the plague was spread in western Mongolia after a teenager caught and ate an infected marmot, according to the country’s Ministry of Health.

He died on Sunday.

Health imposed a week-long quarantine of 15 people that came into contact with the boy in the Turgug district of Gobi-Altai province.

The World Health Authority spokeswoman Margaret Harris said last week they were monitoring case numbers in China after

“It is being well managed,” she said during a virtual press conference.

“At the moment, we are not considering it high-risk but we’re watching it, monitoring it carefully.”

Read more
Squirrel tests positive for bubonic plague

Bubonic plague ‘outbreak’ in China not seen as high risk, WHO says

Russia cracks down on marmot hunting after bubonic plague cases

City asks people to report sick marmots after suspected plague case

Boy contracts bubonic plague in rare human case

View Reactions248

RELATED STORIES
The Independent
Dozens of babies infected by coronavirus in Texas as state struggles to contain the spread

5h ago
Reactions12
KDVR - Denver
Colorado toddler killed in shooting may be result of mishandling loaded gun

1d ago
Kefid Crusher
Ad
Buy Stone Crushers from China Direct Factory

Associated Press
The Latest: Mexico says its COVID-19 deaths surpass 35,000

2d ago
Reactions7
The Independent
10-year-old boy killed after incident at Glasgow building site

2d ago
Reactions1
Liming Heavy Industry
Ad
Stone grinding mill, fineness 20-3250 mesh

Reuters
Indonesia overtakes China with highest coronavirus cases in East Asia

14h ago
Reactions11
CBS News Videos
Several states imposing stricter coronavirus restrictions as infections continue to spike

1h ago
Baltimore Sun
Dan Rodricks: Johns Hopkins infections expert: There’s still time to get the coronavirus under control

23h ago
Reactions15
MORE FROMTHE INDEPENDENT
The Independent
Coronavirus news: Government pauses daily death toll updates, as Sage scientist warns ‘I won’t hug elderly relatives at Christmas’

4h ago
Reactions2
The Independent
Dozens of babies infected by coronavirus in Texas as state struggles to contain the spread

5h ago
Reactions12
Kefid Crusher
Ad
Buy Stone Crushers from China Direct Factory

The Independent
President says he’s ‘saddened’ by John Lewis’ death after Barack Obama led heartfelt tributes for the civil rights hero

8h ago
Reactions1,045

@Purple are we being set up for the next pandemic? Toa maoni

Oh yes, there’ll be more pandemics, much deadlier than covid. A prophet I admire so much in terms of what God did through him once prophesied of diseases and pestilences that he saw melting people’s skin on the streets killing them instantly. In those days, he said, cancer will be like a toothache. The visions which God showed Him was basically nothing but terror upon terror to the world. I’m not saying this to scare people rather it is to inform.
See even Bill Gates is talking about pandemic 2.0 and who knows, pandemic 3.0, 4.0 …

Nasikia squirrel iko na maku tight and wet kushinda dogi

Sick bastard very sicck ,i recommend you visit kamirithu herbal clinic before its too late and u become full blown madman raping even cockroaches

Weka poll:D:D:D

Humbwer ghasia Shoga kafirwe mkundu mbali. We are talking about our extinction na wewe Una leta your weird fetishes. Shoga Mzee.

and they will be searching for death and death will evade them,

MWATHANI The lord is our strength and shield. He is our own anchor in this stormy gale.

And how did you know that, if you haven’t tried it?

You require help my friend. Mkiwa na Yule mwendawazimu mwingine anayeitwa Mosa