BMW 116i

Hi guys what is wrong with this machine very cheap in second hand vehicle market.

It is the most useless vehicle you can ever buy.

Run my friend. RUN!!!

Can you highlight some of the issues with this car

Achana na io mashinii bwana, itakutesa ushangae

Instead of buying that car, you are bettero off spending that money in those joints where mechanics go out for a beer and throw them some rounds for first hand stories.

It will be money.better spent.

In short, expanded to a majority of BMW, there natural habitat is the garage setting. Sth to do with BMW loving too much “computerization” of the car.

Jaribu utalia machoss ingine hujawahi one. Na btw, lazima utacram number ya breakdown + wewe na mechanic mtazoeana hadi utakua unattended functions make e.g. weddings at vile amekuokolea mara mingi. Hiyo gari wacha,niliona cuzo amenunua moja ata one yr haikuisha. Overheating, wrong signals from computer box…kwanza hiyo upuzi ya reprogramming aki ya nani karibu kijana apoteze kichwa

They say an expensive car to maintain you lease not buy, otherwise you will be stuck with it. Those are german luxury cars for you, first owner lease and let the second owner shoulder the burden of maintainance.

How is a 116i a luxury vehicle?

Hehe it is a BMW

Its a good car. But buy one with few previous owners. Preferably 1. I didnt see any problem with the car.

Baas

Toyota drivers mnakuwaga na kisirani sana.

(And I have noticed that most talkers are lovers of China, they love Toyotas and they definitely love Xiaomi and infinix phones.)

Hawa watu wa Toyota na Subaru hata in real life wako hivyo wote.

Saa unashindwa… kwani Toyota na Subaru hazikuwagi computerized???

As if genuine Toyota components are usually very cheap.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Wewe na mechanic wako mtakuwa hivi…in a few months you two will be gracing the front page of True Love Magazine

Boss, forget the badge. These cars cost around 1.2-1.4 apo. For that money, you can buy a higher grade car like a 2012 Mark-x with a smooth v6 power plant and legendary toyota reliability. You get a car thats far cheaper to maintain yet much more spacious and luxurious. A beamer 1 series is a low grade car in the same market segment as a Ford Focus or Honda civic but much more costlier to maintain.

Granted, a 116 may be more luxurious than a civic but a Mark -x is a far superior ride.

Stop derailing this thread, zingatia mada kaka ama uketi pale >>> utege sikio

Seems like most talkers are the typical Toyota mentality peeps who believe in cheap.

I own two bimmas,a 2006 model BMW 116i msport and a BMW 320i 2012 model Msport.Before going the bimma way I owned a subaru imprezza wrx before ditching it for a Toyota fielder because it almost made me bankrupt because of too many technical issues.

The bmw 116i is the my best car,I have owned it since 2016,before corona I used to go with it to Mombasa and back to Nairobi once every five weeks.Minor service costs Ksh 26k once every 15000kms.The major issue I have had is a broken transmission sumpguard that got spoilt when I hit a stone off road.It returns 13kms for 1litre of petrol,does 0-100kph in 4.8seconds,speedometer inafika 260kph,the gearbox is tiptronic,both manual automatic.I still use it to date.

The 320i I use it when I have to make a quick dash out of town,its 2000cc with turbo,abit thirsty,returns 9kms per litre of fuel.I use it mostly for town runs here in Nai.Also,no issue,service is the same.Bought it in 2018,no issue so far,but the same principle applies.

Bimmas are very good cars as long as you dont miss service.Majority of the fuckers in this forum buy cars for the following two reasons:
1.Reliability:Bimmas are the most reliable if you never skip service.The parts are expensive yes,but they are changed less frequently than Toyota.When you have to spend 20k for a toyota every 5k KMs you spend 26k every 15kms for a bimma.
2.Resale value:Any car including a bimma,well maintained will fetch you a good price if you maintain it well.Why should you buy a toyota and compromise your safety because of resale value?

Kuna fala hapo juu amesema kununua mark x,mark x and toyota crown are the shittiest cars on the roads.Their bodies are too big for their engines to handle with shitty aerodynamics.
Try and get advice from people with experience in european cars.Anytime I do Nairobi Mombasa ma japanese cars never see me.The only peeps who give me pressure are VW GTI na Mercedes.Zingine zote za Japan ni punda.Dont be fooled by these toyota mindset peeps most of whom dont even own a car,kazi ni ku google.

Finally ,if you fancy a bimma,indeed get one,but first before you commit,take it to a computer diagnostic and give it a scan to ensure that the it has a good service history.In case it has any issue you can ask the owner to lower the price on that basis.This is the standard practice for any second hand car.

The only issue I saw was that BMW 116i for 2007-2009 had timing chain issues whereby they became loose after 100k kms.You could hear a rattling sound when the engine is running.The quick fix was to get a new chain with tensioner and a chain guide for ksh11000 and labour of 6k.The labour is about 6k coz starting year 2007 they put the timing chain at the back of the engine near the steering compared to year 2004-2006 where the timing chain is at the front.

The cars are currently being sold cheap coz wassee wamepoteza major,maintaining cars is not easy.Someone chooses to sell and sort the bank with the difference.Even ma toyota axio and aliona are going very cheap since March.

If you want a good car,avoid advice from people with scarcity mentality and dont get advice from fuckers who dont even own cars.

My only issue with it is that ni BMW which is a shitty car tbh…Heri anunue its German equivalents kina golf 1.4 turbo ama audi a3 which are more reliable.