Beauty Up North; Marsabit National Park

Marsabit National Park; A Remote Paradise Far to the north of Kenya. This is my experience from my recently concluded tour of Marsabit County covering Marsabit National Park, North Horr | Chalbi Desert, Loyangalani | Lake Turkana and Ngurunit

What comes into your mind when you hear Marsabit County? I know most of you think of it as a extremely dry region and insecure. Well most of it is dry. But there is Marsabit National Park. A densely forested park in the middle of a jungle. Yes a real forest. Inside Marsabit Forest there are three crater lakes with the most scenic one being the Lake Paradise. They provide a haven for a variety of birdlife, mammals and reptiles.

While on a game drive through this forest you will be able to come across greater kudus, Grevy Zebras, buffalos and elephants. Being a thick forest taking photos of all these animals whenever they appear can be a tricky affair but i got really good shots of Greater Kudus. They were abit patient with us. Lions and leopards are also found here although we never spotted one.

On the matter of insecurity I want to assure you that Marsabit is very secure. We covered over 1500 KMs both ways and we never had an incidence. Even as we passed through the remotest route (Marsabit -Segel - maikona- kalacha - el-gathe - North Horr).

Lemmi share my favorite photos of our Journey up to Marsabit National Park including stunning photos of Lake Paradise itself. ( By the way we will be returning again for a 4 days road trip to the same route. Scroll down for more details).

[ATTACH=full]325331[/ATTACH]
You all know this is usually the first photo whenever you plying Nairobi - Nanyuki route. Its hard to resist a photo here especially when accompanied by beautiful geos. :):):slight_smile:

[ATTACH=full]325337[/ATTACH]
A few minutes drive from Archers post is this magnificent landmark; Mt Ololokwe or Wamba as referred to by the locals

[ATTACH=full]325338[/ATTACH]
The scenic drive from Archers to Marsabit under the scotching sun. Nevertheless you will enjoy every bit of it.

[ATTACH=full]325341[/ATTACH]
Then all of a sudden, Marsabit National Park just before you get to Marsabit town

[ATTACH=full]325342[/ATTACH]
And wonders never sieze. This is what Marsabit national Park is made of. A dense forest full of life as opposed to what we have seen on our way

[ATTACH=full]325343[/ATTACH]
Just when you think you have seen it all, Lake Paradise appears

[ATTACH=full]325344[/ATTACH]

Then more animals…

A family of greater Kudu suddenly cross our paths and they are patient enough to allow me set my camera and have a few shots. Well most ran before i could get the right settings for the darkening forest.

[ATTACH=full]325348[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]325349[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]325350[/ATTACH]

The Forest gets thicker as we get deeper

[ATTACH=full]325351[/ATTACH]
The 3rd crater lake is here. Here you get closer to the lake…

We exit via Ahmed after a short drive we exit via Ahmed gate and a short drive from the gate gets us to our Hotel in Marsabit Town and the end of our Day 1

And for the lovers of sunsets I will not betray you. From our hotel though the sunset wasnt very visible as it was hidden by some trees surrounding the facility. Nevertheless I managed to capture this.
[ATTACH=full]325352[/ATTACH]

This brings me to the end of Day 1 of 4
Nairobi - Marsabit.
Tomorrow I will share with you the long drive through the Chalbi Desert from Marsabit all the way to North Horr. About 215 Kms or so of pure offroad on a Land Cruiser. Its the best road trip I have had in a very long time.

And just in case you would like to join us in our next episode to the North here is a little info

4 Days Marsabit NP, Chalbi Desert, Loyangalani|L Turkana and Ngurunit
Dates: 9th Oct to 12th Oct 2020
Cost Per Person: Ksh 27000 per person

Includes
Transport on a 4x4 Cruiser ( 6/7 Persons).
Enough water
Park and community fees
Guide
Accommodation in hotels and huts throughout the safari
Meals (Dinner on day 1, All meals on day 2 and 3, Breakfast on day 4).

Excludes
Alcohol and Anything not mentioned above

Whatsapp us Now for more info regarding this trip

Whatsapp No +254723315919 or +254731950945
Email: [email protected]

Macho safi

Am back! :D:D

Watu wanalala kwa hotels gani?

Wekelea picha za rooms, food etc included in this package.

Unaogopa utahara na ukulwe na wadudu? Hii ni ya vinyozi. This is not your forte sir. Tafuta zile za wahindi,wanalala sarovas and the likes with a la carte menu

Nimeskia ametaja huts… :smiley:

Lakini all jokes aside unajua kubeba mharo in the middle of a desert sio mchezo?

Usisahau kuna corona lazima ukuwe doubly careful.

Wewe shoga mzee utamaliza old faggots retirement package huku?

Mimi nimeuliza swali na lazima maswali yaulizwe. Hata kama amekulipa a-advertise kwa site yako si ni lazima potential customer aulize swali?

Shida iko wapi?

Sikuharibii biashara… ni swali nimeuliza. :D:D

Marsabit has a very nice hotel with good rooms and food. From there the Hotel in North Horr is some simple huts. It was so hot. We just got the beds out and spent the night outside. Marsabit you get to eat good food with fruits, vegetables and so on. Past that its only starch and meat. At least at Loyangalani we had some well cooked fish and fruits too. In Ngurunit you got the option to spend in a manyatta or rooms (Toilets and bathrooms outside). Food here is just starch and meat. The good thing is that meat up there is so sweet. I didnt take photos of Marsabit hotel but I will be sharing the North Horr and Ngurunit accommodations. I will try and tag you in the post tomorrow

Chakula si mbaya. Ni vile tu hakuna luxury ya a whole menu to choose from or buffet. its simply Ugali meat or chapati meat. But utapenda meat ya kwao

Welcome back to bizna. I am ‘vorrowing’ closely waiting for more pictures. Beautiful scenary. Not what I thought about Marsabit.
What is the situation if one has kids in tow? A problem I foresee is that some of us think Somalis hygienic standards are below par…so their food is a no no. What do you have to say to this?

Weapon of choice? KTM 1290? Tenere? Gs1200? Africa Twin?

Thank you sana. I had problems login in for months but i am now back. Whats the age of the kid? Lets begin there. The food is great. Well cooked. The difference is just that there is no variety up there. Hyegene is a plus for me. The fact that they wont serve in those classy dishes that we are used to here in NBI hotels doesnt make it bad. By the way I loved the meat. The type of meet you will eat for 5 days and not complain. Lemmi see if i can attach the Lake Turkana Fish.

No insecurity at all. even the guys we came across walking with hundreds of camels didnt have guns. This route is 100 percent safe. You may carry your camera as the only weapon

Ulukamua …izo anteloles

Sawaz. Kids in our entourage range from 2yrs - 10yrs…fish meal looks good…

2 years can be abit tricky for this type of road trip. sidhani kanavumilia extreme sun from Samburu all the way, The over 700 KMs of off road and so on. From 5 it is okay

Deno baite murume niaje

Niatia? Twite Chalbi gwe

Thx …Noted. This is one trip in Kenya that I am really interested in. Our young ‘brats’ will be left with Shosho back in Kiambu Kounday.