Avoid radical phone chipset and hardware changes - Pixel 6

Samsung is still struggling with launching its AMD mobile chipset 4 years down the line. Nokia promised heavily then dropped support and finally gave up on the Pureview. Microsoft imetoa ulimi kwa Surface duo. Even Samsung’s first generation foldables had numerous flaws.

Google is no exception…even after stealing HTC staff (I owned 4 HTC phones) and forcing me to switch from HTC phones to nexus phones it’s still having issues with software for new hardware for the Pixel 6. Pixel 6 owners are frustrated bunch now that all pixel phones have been updated … yet the 2021 flagship phone is still lagging. The best pixel phone is still the Pixel 5 until we get to Pixel 7 or 6a.

This post is basically warn people like @Dennis212 not to buy the 6. I know Dennis is watching the market for a price drop on the 6. But I am asking you to exercise restraint.

So what does the Nyamgondho wuod Ombare advise…

HOLD…HOLD…HOLD and wait for the Nyamgondho to scream NOW! Then you can unleash your financial warchest.

Considering I have bought Google phones even before google started making phones (Google bought HTC hardware, software business and transferred HTC engineers) I believe my guidance reigns supreme.

Hizo Pixel zinasifiwa hizo camera gimmicks tuu na hype nyingi ya Tensor chip hakuna kitu hapo buana. They also have poor battery performance for the big batteries they carry, poorly optimized. Afadhali hata ununue hizo OneOppo(OnePlus+Color OS),most people know to exercise caution on a totally new product on its 1st ever consumer cycle.

There is so much to life than care about such details on a phone brand that has average lifespan of 2 or less years…just saying!

Some phones have a lifespan of 5 years nowadays.

Buying a flagship phone today and next day hauwezi piga simu coz of a new update can be extremely disappointing.

Imagine you pay 90k for a phone and after a simple update you can no longer call anyone. The phone doesn’t register network connectivity and you have to buy a mulika mwizi to make a simple call. That’s how serious the problem can get.

No one is waiting for 2 years for problems to set in. We are talking of days sometimes hours after purchase.

You are right, I have had only 3 cellphones since my first one in 2004. Right now I still have my third one 2016 Sony Xperia XZ…still going strong holding all day charge. I refuse Updates…period! I am sure it has lasted longer than some cars!

Haha jaruo

[ATTACH=full]409174[/ATTACH]

My first flagship was HTC one M7. Really loved the device. Then one day a software update is rolled out. Mimi ni naniniwachwe nyuma considering all other updates were smooth.
Wacha simu ianze kudrain charge in like 3hrs, overheating, bootloops ka nonsense, purple hue on camera while in poor light condition ( but clear pics when outside during the day)
Hiyo kitu iliniuma sana. Hard reset did nothing.
That’s when I learnt how to install custom ROM. YouTube mwalimu wa maana. Unlocked bootloader and used TWRP to flash the ROMs. Most of the ROMs had se bootloop issue. The only stable one was CyanogenMod now LineageOs.
Phone now runs well but the battery drain was never fixed or camera issues.
Lesson I learnt is, especially for flagships, give it a year or so. Let the early birds deal with the teething problems i.e hardware issues, software issues etc. Kama Haina hizo mashida 8 months down the line price will be affordable and you get a tried and tested flagship

good strategy, should work fine. For me, I buy items right before the refurbished ones hit the market especially if I have been planning to upgrade the item for a while. I believe no one can be trusted, even the manufacturer themselves after a year of so of a device being in the market. But this I agree is a good strategy if you have a tight budget.