Any advice on getting a 3000/= Jiji monitor as an external replacement for my old laptop broken screen? Is it worth it?

I have an old laptop that is still kicking but the screen is mostly dead nowadays. I have been using it on the TV but it doesn’t scale very well no matter what graphicsl settings I mess with. The issue might be the TV, sigh.

Fixing the 15’6 screen will cost me around 5500/=
I came across cheap monitors on Jiji that are going for 3000 for 17’ to 19’ inches. Adding the cost of an HDMI to DVI-D cable/HDMI to VGA adaptor will take the costs to around 3500/=

The thing is I don’t know how those monitors look like in person in terms of screen quality or their resolutions. And in typical Jiji/Kenyan style, their resolutions are not listed.

Has anyone had experience with those cheap monitors? The 3K range? Advice kindly

Edit:
I am [SIZE=6]asking for a review on cheap TFT monitors[/SIZE]. I have zero experience with them. How’s their [SIZE=6]resolutions? Durability[/SIZE]? Etc. I am cheapening out and want to buy a 3K monitor and I [SIZE=5]don’t want it to be a complete waste of money[/SIZE]

I am not asking for directions to shops or opinions on Jiji. Jiji listings are physical shops in tao, I’ll go to the shops.

Scammed by jiji will be your next handle

[ICODE][/ICODE]

Bruh, Jiji is a listing to physical shops in town. Only post a reply when you have something to contribute. The question being experience with cheap TFT monitors.

That was something. Don’t you think so?

sikiza venye chief blocker @Trojanex amesema

ingia huko na utalijua jiji.co.ke. tafuta physical shop wakuuzie screen

I am asking on people who have had experience with them?! A review of sorts
Experience, sigh!

I have bought numerous stuff on Jiji. Every shop in tao has a listing on Jiji. I am not asking where to buy them. I know where. Jiji is just convenient to determine prices before going to physical shops

VGA cable ni 200 jumia.

si uende nairibi kwa walia. cheaper than that i guess

Hdmi to vga is a bit expensive. Especially since VGA is analog while HDMI is digital. A convertor/adaptor is needed. The entire thing is kitu 700 bob.

Hdmi to DVI-D is cheaper coz they are both digital and don’t need a convertor. They are around 300 bob.

I can get either from AliExpress for 1 bob after I create a new account. Plus shipping (either free or 23 bob on China ship option) plus KRA 100 bob. Total ni kitu 150 max. Shida ni waiting time ni 30 to 50 days.

The prices on Jiji ni same na za shop. Jiji ni listing za physical shops hapo tao. Woote wako hapo Kimathi Street and the surrounding

Am asking for reviews though. Is it worth it? 3K is a bit too cheap and I am not sure it’s a sound investment. Display quality, resolution, durability, acceptable colour accuracy etc…

Inatoshana aje?

Kitu naeza kwambia is you should buy your electronics huko luthuli. The warias are always cheaper since they are able to smuggle goods in the country and evade lots of taxes

It can’t get cheaper than what’s listed on Jiji. The shops on Luthuli are the one’s who list stuff on Jiji and to buy stuff, you have to go the shops.

It’s around 3K for a 17’ to 19’ . A bit higher is still around 3.5K to 4.5K for a 20’ to 24’

Of course, if I wasn’t cheapening out and money wasn’t an issue I would have bought an actual good monitor at 50K and called it a day.

I am asking for a review though. I know where to get them and what they cost.

I have zero experience on those things, their picture quality, durability, resolution, refresh rate etc

They work okay in virtually all aspects, with all types of computers, and will last longer than you need them. Just make sure you purchase a known brand name (HP, Dell, NEC, etc) from a well-stocked shop that can honor their guarantee. Carry your laptop on the purchase date just to make sure you are satisfied with the output.

what is the laptop brand and model?

nimekaa na monitor moja hp 10 years with internal power supply

hapo sijui sasa. mimi bora naona kitu kwa screen sina wasi wasi.
75 hz 1366x768 lcd

masomo zetu ni kidogo
sasa ukianza na kizungu mingi hatutasoma. nimeona jiji na laptop pekee

hio ndio ilikuwa setup yangu most of 2017

Hio laptop ni gani nione kama niko na stock ya hio screen.

Old laptops should have a VGA port mdau…yako haina? Kama iko just get the monitor and you are sorted. Although the inconvenience of the monitor isnt worth the difference in fixing the laptop screen

I bought an 21" external monitor hapo Mombasa Computers at 6800…HP Elitedisplay E221
Been with it almost a year… so far so good…durability is okay koz nimehama nayo na ikaanguka…
I avoided hizo za jiji… some of those monitors were old…