Anaesthesia ( relatation to the story of the french footballer Jean Pierre Adams )

Anaesthesia si mchezo afriend of mine broke his arm in amotorbike crash on 3rd August this yearwent to Thika level five for treatment , he was booked for an operation on 23rd August , he confidently walked in the hospital with the wife in toe on the appointment date, unfortunately still there was no space the surgeon then proposed to the young man that he can do the procedure at his clinic Fonex family Healthcare Thika , my friend accepted and parted with sh.70,000 , at 10. Am they left the hospital and headed to Fonex fast forward the wife was left at the waiting bay as the husband confidently walked in the theatre room , at around 11am an ambulance came to the hospital avisibly shaken doctor came and told the wife that his husband has had some breathing difficulties while on the theatre bed and he was being taken to Thika Level five for further treatment, but instead of going to Thika Level five they went to Thika police station where someone alighted from the ambulance went to the ob to record statement the wife was then told to record statement but couldn’t because she didn’t d not understand what was happening at the moment that is when was told that the husband had just died , the body was later taken to general Kago morgue , postmortem results showed that the doctor gave the young man an overdose of anaesthesia , so my friend just signed his death funeral is next week .

Yes. Hio kitu is administered by someone called anesthesiologist. Mtu amesomea na kuiva kwa hio kazi. Plus nashuku huyo “surgeon” is the same fellow here who has an illegal abbortion clinic in Utawala.

May he rest in peace. Kenya ile upuzi iko huku ni too much. Deliberately ill equipping national hospitals ndio privates zao zipate wateja.

I know of a lady in mid 40s who lost her only kid because of anesthesia. Kid was being prepped for a minor surgery

TO make it worse, hii story ya Muslims burying same day. So imagine as a mum you’re in denial you’ve lost your kid, coz si it’s fucking anesthesia… “Maybe he could wake up.”
Elders now wanasema tukubali ya Mungu tumzike. The hospital is also supporting the elders in order to escape a potential malpractice suit.

If you have been in a room when a c section is being performed, you know the importance of having an anesthesiologist. The dude just sits there until the procedure is done. He takes no other part in delivering the child, just monitors.

Same thing with epidural. Only specialists can administer

Reminds me of Kenya’s best humourist who was killed by a Thika doctor

" In early 2003 Mutahi underwent what was supposed to be a routine, minor and painless operation at the Thika District Hospital to remove a lipoma from his back. He had been assured by a surgeon friend, who had offered to do the operation, that the procedure would take less than 15 minutes. Possibly because of a blunder by the anaesthesiologist, he went into a coma from which he never awoke. His family was waiting for his condition to improve before they could fly him to London for corrective neurosurgery.

[SIZE=6]Death[/SIZE]
Mutahi died on 22 July 2003 at the Kenyatta National Hospital after 137 days in a coma. All his life he expressed his solidarity with the average Kenyan through his refrain: “I am neither too foolish nor too clever.”

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wahome_Mutahi

Just thinking, Do snorers snore during operations?

Wuew…

It can be scary. My niglet went for a CT scan akiwa 3 months,but how that anesthesia works will scare the crap out of you. It is similar to a person dying,one second the freeloader was crying hysterically,the next thing i saw was eyes rolling back and silence…we were given heads up that shit was going to get scary so tunaeza jiexcuse kama hatujiskii kuangalia. Till this day it haunts me

General anesthesia suppresses many of your body’s normal automatic functions.You’ll be in some kind of “vegetative state” ,a medically induced coma,so not tecnically sleeping . Functions such as those that control breathing, heartbeat, circulation of the blood (such as blood pressure), movements of the digestive system, and throat reflexes such as swallowing, coughing, or gagging …tecnically you are in the precipice of dying in very many ways when you are under

It’s more frightening now.

Anaesthesia is administered by a specialist. Most doctors would love you to believe they can do it but you have to take an extra four year course just to qualify as an anesthesiologist and that’s before you have done your residency for another four year residency. Alafu jamaa anafikiria juu alisomea kwenye maini na figo ziko anaeza kudunga madawa hofyo hofyo. I doubt Kenya has more than two qualified anaesthesiologists as per international standards

Anesthesia for a CT scan??? The auack should be found and skinned alive. Anything to hike the bill

Anaesthesia ni noma.

That was a risky surgery he did, if my memory serves me.

Going to a private clinic for surgery is never a good idea. But pole.

Once I had a problem that I thought surgery would rectify. Private hospitals were always ready to do it but when I went to a public hospital, I discovered that surgery is always the last resort. Its like whatever happens during and after surgery, may not be reversible so you have to think very carefully before commiting to it.

Fifteen years down the line, am happy those district nurses advised me against it.

It doesn’t matter where you get it. There’re only 160 anaesthesiologists in Kenya. We know KNH has 24 operation theaters. Assuming all other county hospitals have one, they would need to work 24/7 without sleep to oversee every operation. But we know for a fact 77% of them wamekwama Nairobi. So the rest of the nation share 36 anaesthesiologists. I doubt anyone is brave enough to go to these shithole counties where governors like to tussle with medical stuff.

In 9 out 10 cases when you get an operation in Kenya, there’s a good chance it an unqualified poser that put you under.

Pole ndugu. Reminds me of the late Wahome Mutahi though it wasn’t anesthesia, but same case of negligence.

It does. When something goes wrong, at least be in an insitution that you can be rescued. Hizo clinic don’t even have emergency oxygen supplies.

If anything goes weong you will die right there and then. Huku si kwa movies au hollywood ati mascreen zikianza kulia beeping sounds ten expert surgeons who were lounging around will come rushing in. Most cases you’re lucky that one surgeon is around. Akimalizia quota yake anatoka mbio anarudi clinic yake.

There’s no army of experts holding their breathe watching you. Kakinuka wanafunganisha mwili, report inachorwa, na mwili inafungiwa mortuary hadi mlipe deni. There’s not even the courtesy ya daktari kuja polepole kuwaeleza “we did everything we could.” Unatulianga tu hapo waiting ukichoka uende kuulizia unaambiwa huyo alikufa enda ulipe deni mbebe mwili.