Age limit proposal suspended. 8 to 5 years.

As it is to be expected the proposal comes to nought. Hii kenya nothing is ever what it seems that is why almost everybody is a last minute kind of person. You never know whether what you have been queuing for for an entire day will be scrapped. They scrapped an entire election so why not something like this ama huduma?

Age limit for imported second-hand cars suspended, Gov’t says

It was a relief for importers of second hand vehicles after the government suspended plans to cap the age limit for imported second-hand cars at five years from the current 8.

While appearing before the Trade and Industries committee of the National Assembly, Trade CS Peter Munya the cap was a proposal.

“It is still in its draft form and yet to undergo public participation,” he said.

This was after the legislators aired concerns that the ministry was making policies without involving them.

They even termed CS Munya’s pronouncement as roadside declaration.

He however assured the lawmakers that the status quo remains until all stakeholders are involved and the policy is passed in Parliament.

The new set of regulations seeks to cap importation of used cars from 8 to five years starting this July.

In 2021, the limit is proposed to be three years and finally zero by the year 2024.

The Kenyan government further wants restriction on importation of second hand vehicles of over 1500cc and exceeding five years from date of manufacturing.

The plan has since been met by strong opposition from dealers who say the business is the economic mainstay for over 2 million people, directly and indirectly.

Some even told off the Kenya Bureau of Standards KeBS technical team on Tuesday saying the proposed national automotive policy is punitive and inconsiderate of their grievances.

at least i should upgrade from shoebaru though naskia crsp imepanda

Clueless gov’t…Do the people in charge sit down to discuss some of the policies they make?

Still, hujuma namba sichukui…liwe liwalo

Age limit was being pushed by Japan, in exchange for financing a few projects at KPA. age limit should be pushed back to 12-15 years.
(I know one or two things on this)

If they push the age limit from 8 to 5, people will simply buy less japanese cars and most likely switch to locally used cars.

If they want to pull this off, its even better to do it in phases i.e. maybe push it down to 7 and see how that goes. Then after 3 yrs or so, push down to 6 and see how that goes etc. This way, they can gradually see the kind of impact this has and whether it should be pushed down all the way to five or not.

They ought to do away with those age limit, and tax heavily old cars. They should also encourage buying of new car but reducing import tax. But every car gets old eventually

Today kenya has become a dumping ground for vehicles with a lifespan of less than 2 years, and they are irreparable. and safety is not assured. Cars below 1500 cc should be banned

True

Wakenya mnatakaga aje? Juzi tu mlikuwa mnalia ati za 8 years zinaokolea vijana wapate tu-gari twa kufanya taxi sasa tena ni mbaya gafment ikisema wacha ikae basi. whiners!

stats will be helpful to prove dumping ground and stalling within 2 years.

what’s wrong with those cars?

A new survey by Ipsos Public Affairs on estimated total monthly income also indicates that 1 percent earns between Sh55, 000 to Sh75, 000 and another one percent earning between Sh75,000 and Sh100000 per month.

“24 percent earn between Sh10,000 and Sh25000, ten percent earns between Sh25,000-Sh40,000 and another three percent earns between Sh40,000 and Sh55,000 per month,” according to the research findings.
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2001276202/what-majority-of-kenyan-households-earn-in-a-month
relatively new vehicles ni only 2% wanaeza afford comfortably in this economy… @spear na jubilee govt explain this nonsense

In my experience, I or people who I know who have bought 8yr japanese cars second hand have never had an issue. My first Jap car I had over 10 years without any issues whatsoever . My second I have had for 3 yrs and no issues. All of my brothers and even parents have bought second hand jap cars without any issues. Only thing is minor repairs and service.

The thing about jap cars is you should do the following stuff when you get it:

1. Change your gearbox oil. Ata hizi wanasema ati “sealed for life”, just change it and change it every about 50000 kms.
  2. Change your coolant. What I have realized is that coolant generally becomes less efficient in ridding the engine of heat with time. Though your temp gauge wont show it, your engine is in most cases running alot hotter than it should be and your fan will be constantly trying to keep stuff cool. Ofcourse, an engine running hotter than it should be will wear out faster than it should na utaanza kujipata jua kali every now and then ati unafunguafungua engine. Change it every 3 years or so.
  3. Oil… change that shit and change it religiously. I know of someone who skipped 1 service on a 10,000 km engine oil (he thus did almost 20000kms) and messed his crankshaft bearings. It didnt help that he was a very aggressive driver and liked to push the car sana

The only people I know who have gearbox/engine issues etc are those who dont change the oil or maintain the car well.

Though I would not buy but a 1500 car or below, this is what most kenyans buy especially when its their first car. Banning these will severely bring down 2nd hand ex-jap car sales.

I was looking to buy an axio at the end of the year and this issue was pissing me off. It is proper illogical since in Kenya we don’t even have a vehicle industry. It is like they sit down and think, “How can we make life harder for the working class Kenyan?”

Falsehoods, myths, untruthful, unsubstantiated, lies…… .

Personally I’m happy with the new twist. Hizi gari zimepatia maboy job za taxify, Uber na delivery sana. [COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]Anything that helps ordinary Kenyans earn an honest daily bread must be supported. ** [SIZE=1]Hawkers lakini make me want to side with the government [/SIZE]

ushai endesha mazda demio? sensi where am seated right now i know alot about japan and kenya relations than you. Please

we are importing plastics connected with small generators, age limit should be 12-15 years, na tusibishane.

why axio?